We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin St. John Resort & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Westin St. John Resort & Villas to your Saves list
Westin St. John Resort & Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 8310, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I were a little concerned after reading some of the reviews at this site. However, we also took some of the negative reviews with a grain of salt because some people have unrealistic expectations and will complain no matter what. We took a direct flight in from Philadelphia which was really convenient. One wish we had was that Usair offered regular direct flights during the week to give us some more options on the length of stay away. We decided to take the westin ferry( although a bit pricer than public ferry, it was very convenient and worth the hassle of knowing we were "checked in" and didn't have to worry about taxis on both sides of the port. We were greeted with a rum drink on the dock and felt welcome to the resort. Our room was located in building 11 which is right near the pool and not too far from the beach. Our room was clean and updated and we were happy with the location. I wish they had screen doors out to the patio area to be able to enjoy the breeze in from outside but most people would probably not care for that.
There are plenty of places to grab a drink or something to eat within the resort. Prices are expensive but they are in line with other resorts so expect to spend a lot on meals and drinks. There is a supermarket near the resort so you can stock up on drinks and snacks to save a little bit of money. We bought some water, beer, chips etc. We ate all our meals on the resort except for one night when we ate at the spyglass cafe. It was a beautiful view with a nice casual atmosphere and yummy food. We wandered around the area after dinner to check out shops and bars. There are some fun places to grab drinks. There are plenty of westin taxis driving around so it was nice to know we could head back to resort when we wanted. Back at the resort we had a nice meal at Cruz bay prime. It was nice and intimate with nice selections on the menu and wine list.
Every staff member at the resort was friendly and nice. We enjoyed the variety of things to do during the day from floating on the rafts, swimming in the pool or hot tub and paddle boarding. My husband and I were taking this trip as a long weekend getaway however we commented to one another how nice a resort this was for everyone. There were a variety of people of all ages here. We had no problem getting seats by the pool and beach every day and felt we were able to have some privacy when we wanted it. We would definitely recommend this resort to another couple of family. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thanks for your great review and for not letting any negative reviews deter you from a great stay at The Westin St. John. It sounds as though you enjoyed many aspects of our resort, including our convenient ferry transfer, a welcoming arrival, your Pool View room accommodations and our delicious dining options. We appreciate your feedback and thank you again for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We also want to thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    803
    339
    208
    142
See reviews for
727
815
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed at the Westin St. John over Thanksgiving in 2012 and it was a great experience overall. The property was in a great location and very well kept. After an initial mishap with the room, we got settled in and from there I don't really have many complaints. The service could have been a little faster at times, but overall was good value. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this property for anyone looking, and would stay here again on future trips.

Room Tip: Our room said "garden view", but we had a good view of the pool as well. I don't thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you choosing The Westin St. John for your Thanksgiving vacation last year and I was pleased to learn that your Holiday was well spent. Thank you again and we can’t wait to have you back so that we can provide you with another stay that not only meets, but exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Gorgeous property. We are checking out today. Very friendly staff. Our one bedroom villa was beautiful. The property is a little too spread out for my taste. It is a long walk from the hillside villas to the main property. This was offset, however, by a very well run golf cart shuttle system. It literally takes 5 minutes or less to get a cart to your room--consistently. The hotel staff were extremely efficient and very quick to address any issues. My only truly legitimate criticisms were that the couch in our room--3226-- was very badly worn and that the carpet leading upstairs was in need of replacement. I find the negative reviews of this hotel curious. It would take a chronically unhappy, negative person to not enjoy a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words and understanding review. I was proud to learn that our staff was extremely helpful and friendly during your stay with us. It sounds as though your one-bedroom villa, our complimentary shuttle service, and the way in which our staff addressed your concerns exceeded your expectations, and that is our number one goal. I will have my Engineering team take a look at room 3226 regarding the couch and the carpet so that we can rectify this concern for future guests. Thank you again for your feedback – we truly value your opinions and look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We recently spent two weeks at the Westin St. John Resort & Villas. We had a wonderful time! The hotel is beautiful. Very nice pool with childrens area and nice beach. We have two young children (3 and 20 months) and this hotel is extremely family friendly. Most visitors have time shares and return every year. Lots of kids for my children to play with. We rented our 3 bedroom pool villa through stjohncondos.com. They specialize is renting Westin time shares at a very competitive price. (almost half of what the Westin would rent for) Their website is also very informative which was nice because this was our first time to St. John.
We are looking forward to going again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for sharing your review with future Westin St. John guests. We are excited that you chose to stay with us during your first time to St. John. Here at The Westin, we pride ourselves on being a family-friendly resort, so nothing makes me happier than to hear that your two children were entertained and thoroughly enjoyed their vacation, in turn allowing you to enjoy yours. Thank you again and we look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We vacationed here for New Years of 2012. St. Johns has always been one of our favorites and we were excited to take our children back to experience Islands. We rented a two bedroom condo at the Weston. The hotel grounds were beautiful. Our condo was recently renovated with access to a private pool and BBQ area. It was clean,the kitchen well stocked, and worked great for a family of 5. Rooms had a washer, dryer, dishwasher and pull out sofa.

The house keeping was fine. We spent very little time in our villa and were gone early and out for the entire day. Towels were refreshed and sheets changed at our request, although no site of a vaccum used and floors not cleaned form the previous days sand.

The beach was beautiful and the facilities were nice. The staff at the beach/water front facility was lacking in service. You had to get there early or no seats were available-many reserved by empty towels and a book. The staff at the beach did nothing to help with finding chairs or cleaning up unused towels. Basically, they sat behind the hut and watched hotel guests lift chairs from an unused pile and drag them across the beach, two at a time. The best part about the beach was the use of the floating island obstacle course. My children/teens spent hours on it while we enjoyed our quiet time on the beach. We enjoyed our lunches at the beach club and the service was fast and great with the kids.

We rented a large Jeep. It was almost as much money for a family of 5 to take the Weston fairy both ways from St. Thomas. Parking was no issue at the hotel or in town. We felt safe navigating the roads of St. John. There is also a large grocery store in St. Thomas by the car ferry so we "stocked up" before heading to the island. Prices were much cheaper.

I would recommend the resort condos for a family. Although, some say it is not Westin quality, we had a great time and will go back again. Just remember to stock up on bug spray before hitting the island.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thanks for your review and for choosing The Westin St. John for your recent vacation. While it sounds as though you enjoyed many aspects of our lovely resort, such as your two-bedroom villa, Housekeeping services and dining options, I want to apologize for the areas that inconvenienced you. No available beach chairs and no assistance in finding any are certainly not conditions you were expecting or should ever have to experience while staying with us. I will share your feedback with our on-site watersports company and Activities team, so that we can evaluate our processes regarding this for the future. Again, thank you very much for your feedback. We are very glad you enjoyed your vacation and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
142 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Came here for a conference, found it to be a great way to do St John. You can check in right at the airport on St Thomas and they shuttle you and your bags right to the hotel dock on their own ferry. We upgraded to a beachfront room, which was wonderful, literally just steps to the water. They have everything you need for a tropical vacation, with onsite excursions desk and waterspouts. The little town of Cruz Bay is a short open-air taxi ride away, $5 a person each way. We rented a jeep to explore the island but probably didn't need to, the taxis seem to run all over the island. Overall, it was good enough that we are even considering the Westin time-share program, since they had larger villas on the property which would be great for a family vacation.

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms are really spectacular, right near everything else as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and for attending your business conference at The Westin St. John. It was great to read that despite being on our beautiful island for business, you considered your stay with us to be a great way to see St. John. I was glad you enjoyed your beachfront accommodations, our convenient ferry transfer, on-site watersports company, and time-share options. We certainly look forward to having you back and are excited about the potential of you becoming an owner. We would love to have you back year after year. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I will say that we have traveled to Caribbean resorts every winter for the past four years, and this Westin falls to the bottom of the list of our choice destinations. I would, unfortunately, agree with most of the reviews that say this hotel charges like a five star resort, but our experience was much more like a three star resort. First off, I am still struggling with the billing department to get our billing statement corrected. It has taken three plus attempts and they still cannot seem to straighten out that our package included breakfast (yet they charged for breakfast). They also had a charge on the bill from the last departing guests from our room for $100! I would also say the hotel just feels very much run down and in desperate need of a “face lift”. The breakfast buffet was a huge disappointment each and every day. It amazes me that this hotel can’t seem to figure out how to put together a “nice” and “eatable” buffet for $28 per person. The food in the hot plated area was stale and had obviously been sitting out for too long. The breakfast also lacked selection that we have seen at similar Caribbean hotels that offer buffet breakfast. We also found the staff to be very “hit or miss” in terms of their efforts to be friendly and helpful, or act as though they are doing us a favor. Unfortunately, I can’t recommend this hotel and we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is my understanding that we have reached out to you via email communication to apologize for the inconveniences that arose during your stay and also to ensure that your billing issues have been resolved. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to addressing your concerns. Thank you again for sharing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.7 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.6 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#4 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
1.4 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin St. John Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin St. John Resort & Villas

Address: P.O. Box 8310, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin St. John Resort & Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 1,200 feet of private beach The Westin Resort St. John, USVI is a tropical retreat that's easy to reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin St. John Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. John Resort And Villas
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Westin Cruz Bay
Cruz Bay Westin
St John Westin
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin St. John Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.