We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Trip - Westin St. John Resort & Villas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin St. John Resort & Villas

Save Saved
You added Westin St. John Resort & Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin St. John Resort & Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 8310, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Cruz Bay
Barrington, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Trip - Westin St. John Resort & Villas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We recently spent two weeks at the Westin St. John Resort & Villas. We had a wonderful time! The hotel is beautiful. Very nice pool with childrens area and nice beach. We have two young children (3 and 20 months) and this hotel is extremely family friendly. Most visitors have time shares and return every year. Lots of kids for my children to play with. We rented our 3 bedroom pool villa through stjohncondos.com. They specialize is renting Westin time shares at a very competitive price. (almost half of what the Westin would rent for) Their website is also very informative which was nice because this was our first time to St. John.
We are looking forward to going again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for sharing your review with future Westin St. John guests. We are excited that you chose to stay with us during your first time to St. John. Here at The Westin, we pride ourselves on being a family-friendly resort, so nothing makes me happier than to hear that your two children were entertained and thoroughly enjoyed their vacation, in turn allowing you to enjoy yours. Thank you again and we look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,923 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    643
    680
    293
    182
    125
See reviews for
579
684
21
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We vacationed here for New Years of 2012. St. Johns has always been one of our favorites and we were excited to take our children back to experience Islands. We rented a two bedroom condo at the Weston. The hotel grounds were beautiful. Our condo was recently renovated with access to a private pool and BBQ area. It was clean,the kitchen well stocked, and worked great for a family of 5. Rooms had a washer, dryer, dishwasher and pull out sofa.

The house keeping was fine. We spent very little time in our villa and were gone early and out for the entire day. Towels were refreshed and sheets changed at our request, although no site of a vaccum used and floors not cleaned form the previous days sand.

The beach was beautiful and the facilities were nice. The staff at the beach/water front facility was lacking in service. You had to get there early or no seats were available-many reserved by empty towels and a book. The staff at the beach did nothing to help with finding chairs or cleaning up unused towels. Basically, they sat behind the hut and watched hotel guests lift chairs from an unused pile and drag them across the beach, two at a time. The best part about the beach was the use of the floating island obstacle course. My children/teens spent hours on it while we enjoyed our quiet time on the beach. We enjoyed our lunches at the beach club and the service was fast and great with the kids.

We rented a large Jeep. It was almost as much money for a family of 5 to take the Weston fairy both ways from St. Thomas. Parking was no issue at the hotel or in town. We felt safe navigating the roads of St. John. There is also a large grocery store in St. Thomas by the car ferry so we "stocked up" before heading to the island. Prices were much cheaper.

I would recommend the resort condos for a family. Although, some say it is not Westin quality, we had a great time and will go back again. Just remember to stock up on bug spray before hitting the island.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thanks for your review and for choosing The Westin St. John for your recent vacation. While it sounds as though you enjoyed many aspects of our lovely resort, such as your two-bedroom villa, Housekeeping services and dining options, I want to apologize for the areas that inconvenienced you. No available beach chairs and no assistance in finding any are certainly not conditions you were expecting or should ever have to experience while staying with us. I will share your feedback with our on-site watersports company and Activities team, so that we can evaluate our processes regarding this for the future. Again, thank you very much for your feedback. We are very glad you enjoyed your vacation and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Came here for a conference, found it to be a great way to do St John. You can check in right at the airport on St Thomas and they shuttle you and your bags right to the hotel dock on their own ferry. We upgraded to a beachfront room, which was wonderful, literally just steps to the water. They have everything you need for a tropical vacation, with onsite excursions desk and waterspouts. The little town of Cruz Bay is a short open-air taxi ride away, $5 a person each way. We rented a jeep to explore the island but probably didn't need to, the taxis seem to run all over the island. Overall, it was good enough that we are even considering the Westin time-share program, since they had larger villas on the property which would be great for a family vacation.

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms are really spectacular, right near everything else as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and for attending your business conference at The Westin St. John. It was great to read that despite being on our beautiful island for business, you considered your stay with us to be a great way to see St. John. I was glad you enjoyed your beachfront accommodations, our convenient ferry transfer, on-site watersports company, and time-share options. We certainly look forward to having you back and are excited about the potential of you becoming an owner. We would love to have you back year after year. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I will say that we have traveled to Caribbean resorts every winter for the past four years, and this Westin falls to the bottom of the list of our choice destinations. I would, unfortunately, agree with most of the reviews that say this hotel charges like a five star resort, but our experience was much more like a three star resort. First off, I am still struggling with the billing department to get our billing statement corrected. It has taken three plus attempts and they still cannot seem to straighten out that our package included breakfast (yet they charged for breakfast). They also had a charge on the bill from the last departing guests from our room for $100! I would also say the hotel just feels very much run down and in desperate need of a “face lift”. The breakfast buffet was a huge disappointment each and every day. It amazes me that this hotel can’t seem to figure out how to put together a “nice” and “eatable” buffet for $28 per person. The food in the hot plated area was stale and had obviously been sitting out for too long. The breakfast also lacked selection that we have seen at similar Caribbean hotels that offer buffet breakfast. We also found the staff to be very “hit or miss” in terms of their efforts to be friendly and helpful, or act as though they are doing us a favor. Unfortunately, I can’t recommend this hotel and we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is my understanding that we have reached out to you via email communication to apologize for the inconveniences that arose during your stay and also to ensure that your billing issues have been resolved. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to addressing your concerns. Thank you again for sharing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Lovely island and great resort.
The hotel was very nice and staff were great and its in a great private place.
One fault with hotel and that is, we were in one of the rooms which was located very close to pool and you could walk on to the beach within 1 minute which was great but felt like the rooms could have done with an update, other than that it was fab.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Many thanks for your short, yet sweet review. I was delighted to hear that you found our associates to be friendly and accommodating and that you enjoyed the private location of the resort and your room. We also appreciate your feedback regarding updates, as we are currently evaluating future renovations and your feedback will only help to speed up the process. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hercules, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We are Westin Timeshare owners, but not in St. John, and because of that, we're very used to Westin quality, and in some areas, The Westin St. John Resort is lacking.

The room itself was fine. Everything works, well appointed, good station at the desk for charging various devices. I think, if you had the right cables, you could tie your laptop into the flat screen and watch DVDs. The devil, though, is in the detail. The room was never cleaned the same way twice. Everyone left something undone. I don't believe they vacuum-ever. The carpet was dirty. In fact, I spilled some red wine on the carpet, and tried to get it out-the towel was brown rather than red. Also, there were several days when they didn't replenish toilet paper. One day, we came in after an excursion and the room wasn't cleaned yet. We contacted the front desk, and they sent someone to do it, but we had to leave while she cleaned. At that, she didn't replenish coffee, so I had to contact the front desk to have some delivered in the morning.

Lastly, the television selection was very small. I realize you're in paradise, and watching television is one of the last things you think to do, but being from the West Coast, our day-cycle was different, and we'd always retire early. We're not big fans of network TV, but the selections past that were limited. We decided to watch the Super Bowl from our room, since it came on at 7:30 and wouldn't be done until, easily, midnight/1 am, but the transmission was, seemingly, over the air from Puerto Rico, so the picture was extremely snowy.

I rated this as a 4 because most of these are minor, easily fixed issues. The staff was generally friendly, the golf carts always offered us a ride, and everyone worked with a smile on their face. Even the iguanas were pleasant.

Room Tip: All rooms face the bay, so I'd bet they all can see blue water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and for posting it on Trip Advisor. While we appreciate your kind words regarding your room accommodations and our helpful and friendly associates, I want to apologize for the inconsistent Housekeeping service you received and also the issues you experienced with your television for the Super Bowl. As an owner, your feedback is extremely important to us, and I will pass your feedback along to my Director of Housekeeping so that he can address the concerns that arose with the Housekeeping procedures and supplies that were not delivered daily. I will also have Engineering address the television concern, and we will do our best to ensure that you are not inconvenienced by this upon your return to us. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

I'm here now on my beachfront patio. (Upgrade courtesy of Westin.) Our bed is clean and comfy. They cleaning staff has been fine. Weston is promoting conserving water towels on floor mean replace. Hanging towels mean one will reuse. I'm not at the Ritz, I don't expect turn down. If no turn down is the worst of my day, I'm a happy camper! Ask for room 1010, wonderful! Just wondering if the last unhappy person ever tipped his cleaning staff........

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your vacation to leave such a nice review on Trip Advisor. We are glad you are enjoying your Beachfront upgrade and that you’ve found the Housekeeping service provided to you to exceed your expectations while promoting sustainability. We are glad you are relaxed and refreshed and can be at your best. Thank you again and we hope you enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin St. John Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin St. John Resort & Villas

Address: P.O. Box 8310, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin St. John Resort & Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 1,200 feet of private beach The Westin Resort St. John, USVI is a tropical retreat that's easy to reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, Starwood, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Westin St. John Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Westin St. John Resort And Villas
Westin Cruz Bay
Cruz Bay Westin
St John Westin
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin St. John Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.