We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete experience on the most laid-back USVI” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin St. John Resort to your Saves list
The Westin St. John Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300B Chocolate Hole, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
154 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Complete experience on the most laid-back USVI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Came here for a conference, found it to be a great way to do St John. You can check in right at the airport on St Thomas and they shuttle you and your bags right to the hotel dock on their own ferry. We upgraded to a beachfront room, which was wonderful, literally just steps to the water. They have everything you need for a tropical vacation, with onsite excursions desk and waterspouts. The little town of Cruz Bay is a short open-air taxi ride away, $5 a person each way. We rented a jeep to explore the island but probably didn't need to, the taxis seem to run all over the island. Overall, it was good enough that we are even considering the Westin time-share program, since they had larger villas on the property which would be great for a family vacation.

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms are really spectacular, right near everything else as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and for attending your business conference at The Westin St. John. It was great to read that despite being on our beautiful island for business, you considered your stay with us to be a great way to see St. John. I was glad you enjoyed your beachfront accommodations, our convenient ferry transfer, on-site watersports company, and time-share options. We certainly look forward to having you back and are excited about the potential of you becoming an owner. We would love to have you back year after year. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I will say that we have traveled to Caribbean resorts every winter for the past four years, and this Westin falls to the bottom of the list of our choice destinations. I would, unfortunately, agree with most of the reviews that say this hotel charges like a five star resort, but our experience was much more like a three star resort. First off, I am still struggling with the billing department to get our billing statement corrected. It has taken three plus attempts and they still cannot seem to straighten out that our package included breakfast (yet they charged for breakfast). They also had a charge on the bill from the last departing guests from our room for $100! I would also say the hotel just feels very much run down and in desperate need of a “face lift”. The breakfast buffet was a huge disappointment each and every day. It amazes me that this hotel can’t seem to figure out how to put together a “nice” and “eatable” buffet for $28 per person. The food in the hot plated area was stale and had obviously been sitting out for too long. The breakfast also lacked selection that we have seen at similar Caribbean hotels that offer buffet breakfast. We also found the staff to be very “hit or miss” in terms of their efforts to be friendly and helpful, or act as though they are doing us a favor. Unfortunately, I can’t recommend this hotel and we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is my understanding that we have reached out to you via email communication to apologize for the inconveniences that arose during your stay and also to ensure that your billing issues have been resolved. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to addressing your concerns. Thank you again for sharing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Lovely island and great resort.
The hotel was very nice and staff were great and its in a great private place.
One fault with hotel and that is, we were in one of the rooms which was located very close to pool and you could walk on to the beach within 1 minute which was great but felt like the rooms could have done with an update, other than that it was fab.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ipad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Many thanks for your short, yet sweet review. I was delighted to hear that you found our associates to be friendly and accommodating and that you enjoyed the private location of the resort and your room. We also appreciate your feedback regarding updates, as we are currently evaluating future renovations and your feedback will only help to speed up the process. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hercules, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We are Westin Timeshare owners, but not in St. John, and because of that, we're very used to Westin quality, and in some areas, The Westin St. John Resort is lacking.

The room itself was fine. Everything works, well appointed, good station at the desk for charging various devices. I think, if you had the right cables, you could tie your laptop into the flat screen and watch DVDs. The devil, though, is in the detail. The room was never cleaned the same way twice. Everyone left something undone. I don't believe they vacuum-ever. The carpet was dirty. In fact, I spilled some red wine on the carpet, and tried to get it out-the towel was brown rather than red. Also, there were several days when they didn't replenish toilet paper. One day, we came in after an excursion and the room wasn't cleaned yet. We contacted the front desk, and they sent someone to do it, but we had to leave while she cleaned. At that, she didn't replenish coffee, so I had to contact the front desk to have some delivered in the morning.

Lastly, the television selection was very small. I realize you're in paradise, and watching television is one of the last things you think to do, but being from the West Coast, our day-cycle was different, and we'd always retire early. We're not big fans of network TV, but the selections past that were limited. We decided to watch the Super Bowl from our room, since it came on at 7:30 and wouldn't be done until, easily, midnight/1 am, but the transmission was, seemingly, over the air from Puerto Rico, so the picture was extremely snowy.

I rated this as a 4 because most of these are minor, easily fixed issues. The staff was generally friendly, the golf carts always offered us a ride, and everyone worked with a smile on their face. Even the iguanas were pleasant.

Room Tip: All rooms face the bay, so I'd bet they all can see blue water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bankerdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and for posting it on Trip Advisor. While we appreciate your kind words regarding your room accommodations and our helpful and friendly associates, I want to apologize for the inconsistent Housekeeping service you received and also the issues you experienced with your television for the Super Bowl. As an owner, your feedback is extremely important to us, and I will pass your feedback along to my Director of Housekeeping so that he can address the concerns that arose with the Housekeeping procedures and supplies that were not delivered daily. I will also have Engineering address the television concern, and we will do our best to ensure that you are not inconvenienced by this upon your return to us. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

I'm here now on my beachfront patio. (Upgrade courtesy of Westin.) Our bed is clean and comfy. They cleaning staff has been fine. Weston is promoting conserving water towels on floor mean replace. Hanging towels mean one will reuse. I'm not at the Ritz, I don't expect turn down. If no turn down is the worst of my day, I'm a happy camper! Ask for room 1010, wonderful! Just wondering if the last unhappy person ever tipped his cleaning staff........

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank romeosmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your vacation to leave such a nice review on Trip Advisor. We are glad you are enjoying your Beachfront upgrade and that you’ve found the Housekeeping service provided to you to exceed your expectations while promoting sustainability. We are glad you are relaxed and refreshed and can be at your best. Thank you again and we hope you enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Housekeeping staff stole approx $3000 of our personal things from our room - we were reimbursed only $100 from Starwood's insurance company. On another occasion, upon check-in we had pubic hairs on the "clean" sheets, hundreds of ants in the bathroom, & a soaking wet floor from a leak in the roof. We were moved to a place where the air condition wasn't working.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank jeri14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. In the event that any type of theft occurs on property, Starwood Hotels and Resorts and The Westin’s Security team has a strict protocol in place to respond to these claims and investigate them further for resolution. Guests’ missing personal belongings is something we take very seriously, and I can assure that additional action is taken and correct compensation is issued when necessary. I am unclear whether or not your review is based on a recent stay or multiple stays, as you mentioned separate occasions. Please feel free to reach out to us at 01098.guestrelations@westin.com to discuss your claims in further detail. We’d be more than happy to assist. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

You have to visit St. John it is a beautiful island and the Westin St. John is comfortable and relaxing place to spend a week! The grounds are well kept and extensive with plenty of activities and a nice swim up pool bar. There are choices for dining and a must have calamari at the lobby bar and restaurant. The best I have ever had! There is a car rental on site and we rented a jeep and went to the village and drove the island. Very safe and an easy drive. Several donkeys roaming the island so be sure to pick up some sugar cubes or veggies for them. The will put their heads directly in your car to get treats which make a great photo opp. The beach is clean and not crowded and our ocean front room was standard but about 10 steps from the beach with a private front porch which made the vacation!!. Trunk Bay is where we snorkeled and saw lots of interesting fish. I would not hesitate to recommend a stay at the Westin if you love to unwind and relax!! 5 stars for location, rental car pick up, beachfront room, and quiet relaxation.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms with porch are the only way I would stay again because I am now spoiled from stayi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLeaders2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing The Westin St. John for your recent vacation. It sounds as though you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you enjoyed many of our amenities available to our guests, such as numerous activities, on-site car rental, private beach and beautiful grounds. I was happy to hear you experienced Trunk Bay – isn’t it beautiful? Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.7 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#4 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 stars 570 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. John Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. John Resort

Address: 300B Chocolate Hole, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. John Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 1,200 feet of private beach The Westin Resort St. John, USVI is a tropical retreat that's easy to reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin St. John Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. John Resort And Villas
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Westin Cruz Bay
Cruz Bay Westin
St John Westin
The Westin St. John Resort Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing