We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here now.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin St. John Resort & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Westin St. John Resort & Villas to your Saves list
Westin St. John Resort & Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 8310, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Here now.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

I'm here now on my beachfront patio. (Upgrade courtesy of Westin.) Our bed is clean and comfy. They cleaning staff has been fine. Weston is promoting conserving water towels on floor mean replace. Hanging towels mean one will reuse. I'm not at the Ritz, I don't expect turn down. If no turn down is the worst of my day, I'm a happy camper! Ask for room 1010, wonderful! Just wondering if the last unhappy person ever tipped his cleaning staff........

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your vacation to leave such a nice review on Trip Advisor. We are glad you are enjoying your Beachfront upgrade and that you’ve found the Housekeeping service provided to you to exceed your expectations while promoting sustainability. We are glad you are relaxed and refreshed and can be at your best. Thank you again and we hope you enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    692
    299
    185
    127
See reviews for
592
698
21
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Housekeeping staff stole approx $3000 of our personal things from our room - we were reimbursed only $100 from Starwood's insurance company. On another occasion, upon check-in we had pubic hairs on the "clean" sheets, hundreds of ants in the bathroom, & a soaking wet floor from a leak in the roof. We were moved to a place where the air condition wasn't working.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. In the event that any type of theft occurs on property, Starwood Hotels and Resorts and The Westin’s Security team has a strict protocol in place to respond to these claims and investigate them further for resolution. Guests’ missing personal belongings is something we take very seriously, and I can assure that additional action is taken and correct compensation is issued when necessary. I am unclear whether or not your review is based on a recent stay or multiple stays, as you mentioned separate occasions. Please feel free to reach out to us at 01098.guestrelations@westin.com to discuss your claims in further detail. We’d be more than happy to assist. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

You have to visit St. John it is a beautiful island and the Westin St. John is comfortable and relaxing place to spend a week! The grounds are well kept and extensive with plenty of activities and a nice swim up pool bar. There are choices for dining and a must have calamari at the lobby bar and restaurant. The best I have ever had! There is a car rental on site and we rented a jeep and went to the village and drove the island. Very safe and an easy drive. Several donkeys roaming the island so be sure to pick up some sugar cubes or veggies for them. The will put their heads directly in your car to get treats which make a great photo opp. The beach is clean and not crowded and our ocean front room was standard but about 10 steps from the beach with a private front porch which made the vacation!!. Trunk Bay is where we snorkeled and saw lots of interesting fish. I would not hesitate to recommend a stay at the Westin if you love to unwind and relax!! 5 stars for location, rental car pick up, beachfront room, and quiet relaxation.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms with porch are the only way I would stay again because I am now spoiled from stayi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing The Westin St. John for your recent vacation. It sounds as though you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you enjoyed many of our amenities available to our guests, such as numerous activities, on-site car rental, private beach and beautiful grounds. I was happy to hear you experienced Trunk Bay – isn’t it beautiful? Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The first week of December 2012 we had the pleasure of spending a week with friends at their timeshare. The resort was immaculate, accommodating, and a perfect location. Transfers from airport were easy as was any side excursions. Loved every minute!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. December is a busy time for The Westin St. John, so your review is much appreciated, as it assists us in knowing that we are pleasing our guests even during our busiest time of year. Thank you again and we hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

stayed in a pool villa..all of them have recently been renovated.. Loved our private pool with waterfall and the built in gas BBQ in patio. Very well stocked kitchen and lots of living space for our party of 6.. Shuttle to main pool and restaurants are amazingly prompt when requested. Cruz Bay Prime steaks are absolutely delectable..and service impeccable and friendly.

highly recommend for a very relaxing and no hurry/no fuss vacation

Room Tip: ask for a pool villa if 3 couples as lots of room and will not be falling over each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Many thanks for your review! I was pleased to hear that your party of six enjoyed your stay with us and that your three bedroom pool villa was well equipped and accommodating for your guests. Thank you for your feedback regarding our convenient shuttle service and fine dining restaurant, Cruz Bay Prime. Demetrius and his staff will be happy to know that they were able to enhance your stay. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We are here now. The grounds are beautiful and well,kept. Most of the staff is very nice and well intentioned. How ever,, I hate to have to request turn down and towel replacement every night : assume this is some kind of Starwood "save money" crap. We are paying a premium for a conference ...no discounts. No breakfast etc. This is the second of four nights the turn down been done correctly one night. We should not have to repeatedly have to request turndown and, excuse me, towel service separately.

I am not impressed with Starwood at this point. We used to be happy members. Our last couple experiences have NOT ben pleasant.

Not somewhere I would return unless on business.

Room Tip: Okay place, seems very family freindly. Maybe too much for empty nesters. Don't seem to want e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and for sharing it on Trip Advisor. While it sounds as though you enjoyed our beautifully landscaped grounds and approachable staff, I want to apologize for the issues you experienced with Housekeeping service. I will pass your feedback along to our Director of Housekeeping so that he can look into your concerns and rectify the situation for future guests. Again, we apologize if you were inconvenienced and hope to welcome you back again so that you may experience our improvements firsthand. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here over New Years 2012 & were pleasantly surprised. We were staying on points and got upgraded to an amazing villa!! Thank you Westin!!!! Our unit was updated and very clean, we even had daily maid service. It was wonderful not to have to hurry in from the beach and shower to go to dinner, we BBQ most of the time. There is a nice starfish market 5 minutes down the street by cab. I don't know why there are so many negative reviews written. The property was just as clean & beautiful as it was 15years ago. The beach was nice and clean with plenty of chairs. We were a bit concerned w/ complaints about staff not being top notch but everyone we had contact w/ from the front desk to the pool bar to the snorkel gear was extremely friendly. Also the car rental on property was helpful in getting us a jeep for the day ( the island was sold out of Jeeps 2 months ago). My only complaint was the BUG BITES.. I had read on trip adviser ahead of time about this & did use bug spray but obviously not enough. By mid week I had 105 bites!!! OUCH.... We think most of them came from the early evenings when I would go out to the pool to BBQ. My family got very few bites & they seldom came out to the BBQ :-) The computers on the gym equipment didn't work to well & took a while to get started. We use the Westin Ferry from the airport & it was worth every dime!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your villa upgrade and our helpful and friendly associates. I want to apologize for all of the bites you received. Due to being an island resort, we oftentimes experience an increase in insects, as you read on Trip Advisor, but I am sincerely sorry this inconvenienced you and left you with so many bites. It sounds as though you had a great time other than the insects, so we thank you for choosing The Westin St. John and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you again for posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin St. John Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin St. John Resort & Villas

Address: P.O. Box 8310, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin St. John Resort & Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 1,200 feet of private beach The Westin Resort St. John, USVI is a tropical retreat that's easy to reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin St. John Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. John Resort And Villas
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Westin Cruz Bay
Cruz Bay Westin
St John Westin
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin St. John Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.