We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at the Westin St. John!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin St. John Resort & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Westin St. John Resort & Villas to your Saves list
Westin St. John Resort & Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 8310, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Another great stay at the Westin St. John!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Westin St. John feels like our home away from home! We're been staying there almost every year for 10 years. With two boys (9 and 11yrs), we prefer to stay in a 2 bedroom villa, with kitchen, washer/dryer and two bathrooms. It is definitely the way to go! The grounds are well kept, villas are modern and spacious. Our boys love the water trampolines and the pool volleyball, spend many hours there during the week. We also rent a jeep for most of our stay, as the beaches of St. John are the true draw for us. We love to explore the beautiful sandy beaches and spend hours snorkeling. The shops in Cruz Bay are great, safe place to stroll and check out the local restaurants. Just remember to pack bug spray for the evening mosquitos. Love St.John! Til next year...

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndal R, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
We are so glad to hear that you consider The Westin St. John a home away from home! That is exactly what we strive for, so thank you for sharing this with us and fellow Trip Advisor reviewers. We are glad to hear that your sons have grown up with us year after year and that they enjoy the water trampolines and various activities around the resort. We can’t wait to welcome you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    701
    304
    188
    129
See reviews for
600
710
21
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Overall, we had a great trip and really felt like the grounds, location, and service were great for the value.

We would return and would bring the kids next time.

Our only issue, and it was a significant issue, were bed bugs. Both my wife and I had bites after our first night and after some brief online research, we're very confident these were bed bugs. In fact, every symptom and characteristic of the bites lines up perfect to the internets description of bed bugs.

The staff were kind, changed our room, assured us they would "investigate" and give us a report. Despite seeing similar bites on other guests at the resort, seeing actual bed bugs in our room, and asking continually, the resort staff just wouldn't own up. They said the review of the room was "negative", and tried to tell us they were sand flees. Not buying it.......this is obviously a problem they don't want talked about.

As long as you don't mind bites on your arms and side in clumps of three (called breakfast, lunch, and dinner) that turn into a rash, we'd highly recommend the Westin.

Just wish they owned up to it and helped us know what to do to get rid of them.

Hate that this one issue is a big one because everything else was lovely.

Would HIGHLY recommend zo Zoe's a d the waterfront bistro restaraunts and trips to the BVI's.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review and for posting it on Trip Advisor. I’d like to sincerely apologize for the concerns that arose during your stay regarding any insects. Being a tropical island, we do experience noseeums, sand fleas, and other tropical biting insects which are very often mistaken for other more insidious bugs. Both noseeums and sand fleas are common on the beaches and may even inadvertently be brought in with beach bags and clothes into a guest’s room after a day at the beach. Starwood and the Westin St. John have a very aggressive pest elimination protocol in place and our staff is trained to response immediately to any concerns, so I am glad you were taken care of immediately. As you mentioned, the review done did turn out negative. If you would like to discuss your concerns in further detail, please feel free to do so at 01098.guestrelations@westin.com and type “Cyndal” in the subject line. We would also be more than happy to provide you with a written document confirming the negative status if you have yet to receive one. Again, thank you for voicing your concerns and providing us with valuable feedback. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Tx
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

first off, Beautiful hotel, property extremely well kept, great views from the villas.

ANTS- this became an issue the first day we arrived, sugar ants completely infested the food we bought from the store and expensive baby formula that we brought from home. Upon calling the service desk they "sent someone out" (never arrived). Day 2 we were now very upset at all of the wasted food and formula and called the service desk once again to only be told it was already treated. After a talk with the front desk in person we had a maintenance manager visit our room to tell us "thats life, there are ants- just deal with it." Finally they treated for ants (in and out in 5 minutes). We dealt with ants until we left. When mentioning to the front desk that we would like new baby formula to replace what was lost i was lauged at and told "that will never happen".

Our day of checkout came, and with that comes an early wake up knock on the door from housekeeping asking why you are still in your room- and TELLING you to leave.

I absolutely LOVE Saint Johns and always enjoy the islands but will think twice before staying at this Westin again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndal R, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your review and for sharing it on Trip Advisor. While it seems as though you enjoyed your villa and our impeccable grounds, I am extremely disappointed that you were forced to deal with ants and that they infested your food and baby formula. While it is no excuse, unfortunately, due to the inclement hot weather and a lack of rain on St. John, there has been a recent increase in ants. The Westin St. John has an aggressive pest control policy in place and we have Engineers ready to spray at the first sign of any insects. I want to sincerely apologize that this action was not taken immediately and that due to the lack of excellence provided by our staff, you were forced to deal with ants throughout your entire stay, spoiling your formula and food. I also want to apologize for the way you were treated by our Front Desk and Housekeeping staff on the day of your departure. I want to assure you that this does not reflect The Westin brand and is certainly not reflective of Starwood Hotels and Resorts. We hope to welcome you back in the future so that we are able to show you a true Westin experience, one that is free of insects. If you should wish to discuss your stay in further detail, please feel free to reach out to me at 01098.guestrelations@westin.com and type Cyndal in the subject line. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My wife and I (29 yrs old) spent a week at the Westin St John in a studio villa. The room was recently renovated and looked trendy and up to date with the times. Full kitchen, laundry, and good sized balcony overlooking Great Cruz Bay. The staff was great, grounds were well kept, and they offer a convenient free shuttle service around the entire resort. Full and really nice gym, and a great deli that we had lunch at everyday for $10 a person. The sandwiches were great and fresh and they made them right in front of you. We didn't rent a Jeep and wish we would have. Cabs are easily accessible but they add up! $5 per person to get to town, $10 per to get to the trunk bay and cinnamon bay, which are a must see. My only complaint would be the cost of the Westin ferry from St Thomas. It was $65 per person each way, although really convenient as they drop you off right in front of the hotel. We fell in love with St John. It is a small island (3k people population) and is very very safe. We will definitely be back an definitely will stay at the Westin.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Many thanks for your perspective and for sharing your review on Trip Advisor! It sounds as though you and your wife had a very refreshing stay, and here at The Westin St. John, that is exactly what we strive to provide you with. While we are glad you found the ferry transfer to be convenient, I will pass your feedback regarding the cost on to our Service Express Manager, so that he is able to take your suggestions into consideration. I was so glad to hear that you fell in love with St. John upon your first visit – it is hard not to! It is indeed very safe and we can’t wait to welcome you back for another great stay! Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Most of the bad reviews are way off. My family and I had a great time. Couldn't ask for a better vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thanks for your great review. We love nothing more than to hear that you and your family had a great time. We look forward to your return and providing you with another stay that not only meets but exceeds your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This was an excellent resort tucked away in a great spot. Our room was fairly up-to-date and had all the amenities that you would expect. AC ran well to keep the room a nice temperature and humidity level. Bed very comfortable. Linens were clean and new. Coffee/fridge/icemakers/iron/HDTV. All you needed. Beautiful grounds.

The Mango Cafe was great to grab breakfast. We also got a sandwich one morning and had a day at Trunk Bay for snorkling. If you go to St. John - you need to spend at least a few hours at Trunk Bay.

Staff very friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Hotel in a Beachfront room. It had an outdoor deck. Simple to stroll to sand, pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thanks for your review and for sharing your recent experience with us! I was delighted to hear that you found so many aspects of The Westin St. John enjoyable, from the convenient location and your room accommodations to the impeccably landscaped grounds & that unbeatable Heavenly bed. I was also glad to hear you had a positive experience with our associates and that they were friendly and efficient in responding to your needs. Thank you again for your feedback – we sincerely value you as a guest and we hope that you plan to return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Was concerned when I read a couple of the reviews prior to going. Must have been someone having a bad day or just a basic negative person. . why? I found the resort to be awesome. Beautiful grounds and landscaping. Resort employees friendly, accomodating and smiling. While a man-made beach, I loved the Westin sand and water. . .no it's not a reef, but it's very, very nice. . .calm and relaxing. The buildings. . .yea, probably could use an upgrade, but I say this with hesitation. . .it's a cedar sided resort where the sun shines every day. . guess what, the wood is going to look weathered. . .it's supposed to look that way. The restaurant on the resort is great. . could eat there every night. This is definitley a high 8- low 9 resort. Would go again. Go to town. The older section is cool and authentic, but would suggest you go to the newer section over where the ZoZo restaurant is located. Found this spot the last night. Bummer, would love to have found it sooner. Trunk Bay is very nice. Cinnamon Bay is very nice. Definitely explore the island. This is a must do vacation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor and for trying The Westin St. John out for yourself despite any negative reviews. It seems as though it paid off and that you had a wonderful recent stay with us! We sincerely appreciate your understanding of the fact that The Westin St. John is an island resort and we do unfortunately oftentimes experience an increase in wear and tear. We are currently evaluating renovations and upgrades to the resort, so we certainly appreciate your feedback. Isn’t ZoZo’s wonderful? We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your dinner there and also our beautiful island as whole. We certainly hope you will make another trip to St. John in the future. It would be our pleasure to have you as a guest once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin St. John Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin St. John Resort & Villas

Address: P.O. Box 8310, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin St. John Resort & Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 1,200 feet of private beach The Westin Resort St. John, USVI is a tropical retreat that's easy to reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Westin St. John Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. John Resort And Villas
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Westin Cruz Bay
Cruz Bay Westin
St John Westin
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin St. John Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.