We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Blue Excursions

Big Blue Excursions
Cruz Bay, St. John
+1 340-201-3045
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 35 Activities in Cruz Bay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Charter your Private Power boat or enjoy a Sailing Adventure with us! It's your way every day on Big Blue's 31 foot Grady White "Gypsea Girl" or our 37 foot Tayana sailboat "Papillon". Both Vessels are roomy and comfortable for your private group. We'll help you design the perfect itinerary for your group and create the best day of your vacation!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“So relaxing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I went out on April 9th on Gypsea Girl with Captain Mindy. We decided to stay in US waters since we did a BVI boat trip last year. We rode over to see the Westin and then made our way along the northern beaches. We were so relaxed just being on the boat and chatting with Captain Mindy that we didn't even snorkel on our trip. Captain Mindy gave us all of the details along the way and we simply enjoyed the beautiful weather and watching the occassional sea turtle come up for air. It was the best day of our vacation and hope to have a repeat day next year with Captain Mindy. Gypsea Girl is a very nice, roomy boat. We are soooo ready for our next trip! Thank you again Captain Mindy for a fabulous day!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Captain Mindy was great. My wife and I brought our 11 yr old son and we had a blast! Mindy gave us a lot of current and past history of St John and the BVI's all while cruising from one snorkel spot to the next. She took us a small island and atoll where the snorkeling was beautiful. Plus we loved jumping off the "high deck" of her boat. Lunch in Jost Van Dyke.
Full day and we will definitely book again next year.

Visited April 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“BVI day trip from St. John”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had a great trip to Virgin Gorda (the Baths) and Jost Van Dyke with Captain Connor on the Gypsea Girl. Riding up in the tower was a blast! We were never rushed and we got to see what we wanted to see at our own pace. Captain Connor was very knowledgable!

Visited April 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great Day Cruising St. John and the BVI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had a perfect day cruising around St. John and the BVI. We had six adults in our group and the boat was a perfect size with plenty of room to stretch out and enough shade for those of us who wanted to get out of the sun. We spent the morning snorkeling around St. John, then went over to Jost Van Dyk for lunch, then more beach time, and finished at the Soggy Dollar in the late afternoon. Conner was a great guide and captain, taking us to many different beaches we hadn't seen before.

The whole process of booking the excursion was super easy. The boat was perfect for a day cruise. The cooler was well stocked with beer and soft drinks. I would definitely recommend Big Blue and Captain Conner to anybody looking for a good time in St John/BVI.

Visited February 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Day on the Water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We have been to St. John 7 times and have been out on boats many times, our day with Mindy and her boat was the best yet. She truly makes the day all about what you want to do. She is super friendly, nice and really all about making you have the best time. There were 8 of us, including 4 kids 13 or younger. She really has a way with the kids and made them feel very comfortable. She has noodles for them, gear, a cooler of drinks for both kids and adults, a hammock, just about everything. She even stayed with our kids while we snorkeled a few spots and made them feel very comfortable. I cannot recommend her more highly. She even took and sent us some excellent pictures of us from Sandy Cay.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Blue Excursions also viewed

 

Been to Big Blue Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Blue Excursions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.