We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fly Girl Charter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fly Girl

Fly Girl
Cruz Bay Beach, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
866 820 6906
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 31 Activities in Cruz Bay
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Fly Girl is a wide, comfortable catamaran specializing in snorkeling tours and excursions to the British Virgin Islands. We never take more than six guests so everyone gets personal attention and room to spread out and get comfortable. Captain Han has a masters in ecology. He incorporates his passion for sailing and love of nature into all his tours. His guests come back year after year for this unique sailing adventure. Call Han toll free.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
evansville
2 reviews
“Fly Girl Charter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Me and my wife took a small group charter on the fly girl with Dave and Trey, captain and first mate. They were awesome to hang out with. Dave did a great job with the sails and drinks, and Trey did a great job helping. Both were very friendly and really made the experience very fun for the two of us. We were lucky enough to be the only ones. Like others have said here, it was a highlight for our trip. Fly girl was comfortable for the four of us and would have held another couple comfortably. The Fly Girl is starting to show some age, but was still reliable. I would not have let that keep me from going. Dave and Trey never pushed anything, so they left it up to us to decide when to leave and what to do. Definitely do a full day trip by the way. Thanks guys for the trip!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Sunset Cruise Awesomeness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I booked a sunset cruise for me and my wife on the Fly Girl Catamaran for 8/16/2013 while we were in St. John for our 10th anniversary. We chose to do a group cruise because we couldn't afford to do a private cruise, but as luck would have it, nobody else booked for that night, so we got a private cruise for the per person cost of a group. The family who owns the company now have only owned it a couple months, but they kept the staff from the prior owners. We went out with one of the owners - Captain Eric - and his son Trey and they were AWESOME! Captain Eric suggested that since it was only two of us that we should take their sailboat, the Della Rose, rather than the Fly Girl catamaran as it is more elegant, and I'm so glad we agreed. We cruised around slowly outside of Cruz Bay harbor for a while and watched the sun set while we were served a selection of beer, wine and rum drinks as well as cheese & crackers.

As the sun was just about setting we could see a storm rolling in from the north toward the harbor. Captain Eric asked us if we wanted him to drop the sails and motor back in quickly or if we wanted to stay out and sail into the storm (I think he might have been half-kidding). We told him to sail into it and he did! We got soaked and had an absolute blast!

I would definitely recommend a sail with the fine folks at Fly Girl. You won't be disappointed!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome Sunset Catamaran Experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I absolutely loved the sunset catamaran sail. We called a day or two before to book the trip and were still the only ones on the catamaran, which was a nice change from the crowds of other trips.

The crew, Justin & Brandon were great; they very laid back and they operated the boat really well. We really enjoyed seeing the islands from a different perspective and the sunset was beautiful. They served drinks plus crackers & cheese which was a nice addition. I highly recommend this activity - a great and relaxing way to end the day!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Catamaran - Day Charter on Flygirl - AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

On our recent trip to St Thomas / St John, we chartered the Flygirl Catamaran (their larger catamaran) on 7/22/13. We are a family of four with kids aged 12 and 13. Our crew for the Flygirl was Justin and Brandon. They did a great job sailing us all around St. John. They found 3 different great locations for excellent snorkeling, all of which were in calmer areas out of major currents. They were very informed about the area as well. Included in the 6-hour charter were drinks for the day (both kid and adult friendly beverages) as well as lunch and snacks. Justin and Brandon were great and very friendly - really made for a great sailing day.
This was actually our second time booking with this company - and we hope to book a third time on our next trip. 5 STARS !

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Fly Girl ...... An excellent way to explore St. John and sail to JVD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Our family (6 adults) chartered the Fly Girl for snorkelling and a sail to Jost Van Dyke. Justin and Liz were our crew and were the best! Our stop for snorkelling was Honeymoon Bay, which was our first time at the beach after multiple trips to St. John. We were there early so it was not crowded at all. Snorkelling there was a pleasant surprise......turtles, nurse shark, sting rays, assorted fish in the coral on the right side of the beach (when facing the beach). We then set sail for JVD and while the wind and waves were a little more significant than usual the trip was great! A stop at Foxy's and then around to the Soggy Dollar Bar. Order lunch and relax in the chairs on the beach as you look back at St. John......fish and chips, conch fritters, St. John Root Beer are my suggestions. Justin and Liz guided us back to St. John to wrap up a fantastic day of sailing!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fly Girl also viewed

 

Been to Fly Girl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fly Girl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.