We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Birthday Dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Bistro

Waterfront Bistro
Wharfside Village, Cruz Bay, St. John
340/ 777-7755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 47 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Birthday Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Dined here last Tuesday evening with my husband and parents for my birthday while on vacation. Excellent service and food was awesome. I made reservations about 2 hours before dinner, and we had only a small wait before being seated. Great view, only it was already after dark, wish we had seen sunset! Will definitely return. Fantastic location among the shops.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    136
    51
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Our Best Meal at St. John!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Our dinner at The Waterfront Bistro was an exceptional dining experience! Reservations are recommended; ask for a table on the rail for a PERFECT sunset view!! We started our dinner with mojitos and the arugula and roasted beet salad. The shaved fennel, pistachios and gorgonzola was a perfect blend of flavors. Our entree was pan seared halibut with asparagus - perfectly prepared. The presentation was superb! I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We always enjoy a table on the rail at Waterfront Bistro. Just a short stroll from Gallows Point. Their escargot in garlic/butter is excellent - with extra rolls of bread to sop it all up! My wife always gets their rib eye with frites (really good hand cut parmesan truffle fries), and my filet mignon was served perfectly rare. Food, service and ambience is always perfect and consistent.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Waterfront Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

As a professional wedding planner on St John, I highly suggest the Bistro. The food, service and ambiance are excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Very good food, excellent service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Everything about the experience was good except for a 'bar smell' that hovered over the area. We sat on the high tables near the bar overlooking the water. Nice wine choices.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Bistro also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Waterfront Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.