We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Bistro

Waterfront Bistro
Wharfside Village, Cruz Bay, St. John
340/ 777-7755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 47 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I had my wedding reception here for 18 guests. The service was wonderful and the entire team went out of their way to make sure our guests had a wonderful evening. The food was delisious and the painkillers were amazing! Thank you and we will be back next time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    134
    50
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
menagha,MN
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great food and greatest service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

They were so friendly and catered to our every need and the food was excellent The view was terrific but then sunset over the ocean is wonderful. The staff was very attentive and the food was very tasty, My favorite was the duck.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cuisine, attention & view...all superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

When one is planning a trip to St. John, it must include lunch or dinner at the Waterfront Bistro. We have dined a number of times and this restaurant just keeps getting better on every level. The atmosphere is perfect for a romantic dinner, a celebration or just being with family and friends. This particular occasion was a birthday dinner and we were seated at a lovely table; just steps from the water; all have wonderful views.

We had the Crab, Roasted Poblano & Ricotta Crepes and Caesar Salad (with anchovies, of course) as a first, both delicious. As our main course we had the Grilled Mahi-Mahi with Crab Smashed Potatoes, Blood Orange Caviar & Citrus Herb Vinaigrette as well as the Scallops with Shrimp & Coconut Risotto. The Mahi-Mahi is always very good however the next time we go back, definitley the Scallops - they were one of the best meals we have ever tasted in our lives! For dessert, we shared the Chocolate Mousse Tower on a Flourless Chocolate Cake with a divine sauce in addtion to two Expresso Martinis (we did not share those!)

The service was perfect; just the right amount of attention and we really enjoyed talking to the very professional yet personable staff. The chef and owner have really accomplished a wonderful balance of customer service and superb fine cuisine, together with an extraordinary view that has us planning our next reservation with friends to enjoy as well!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A lovely island restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Food was great - drinks even better! The water is right there and you can take a quick stroll in the sand while you wait for your order. People are always friendly and upbeat - no matter what time of day you choose to go.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant on the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The restaurant has a great atmosphere and sits right on the water. The food was really good (though a bit expensive). We were there on the last night before closing for the season, so they were busy and our waiter was having trouble keeping up. Other than that, the restaurant was great and I would recommend it for a special occasion.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Bistro also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Waterfront Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.