We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Bistro

Waterfront Bistro
Wharfside Village, Cruz Bay, St. John
340/ 777-7755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 39 restaurants in Cruz Bay
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Perfect for Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Fish tacos are delicious. Can't beat the painkillers. Beautiful view. This is our favorite place for lunch.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    218
    113
    44
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best meal of our visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice waterfront table to watch the sunset. Service was attentive but not imposing. Great wines on the wine list. But the real attraction here is the food--absolutely top notch. For firsts, wife had the French Onion soup-made to order, amazingly flavorful and rich broth. I had the crab, poblano, and ricotta crepes. Perfectly balanced-I could taste each of the elements but none overwhelmed the other, and the creole itself was light and eggy.we both had the mixed green salad-fresh greens, nicely dressed. Wife had the duck-breast was perfectly done with a blueberry Madeira sauce that put it over the top. The Confit was juicy and tender-a pleasure to eat. I had the pan seared scallops which we perfect-crispy on the outside but tender and moist on the inside. And the shrimp-coconut risotto was great-savory, not sweet. We closed with the painkiller cheesecake-a small, perfectly sized serving of rich, rum, coconut, pineapple, orange cheese cake.

It as a bit pricey, but in this case you really get what you pay for. Love this place and will definitely go back if/when we make it back to St John.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Jan. 24, 2013

We decided to head to St. John's for a nice lunch and a little break from St. Thomas. We headed out around 10:30 thinking wer would have a nice lunch near where the boat docks.
A friend suggested the Waterfront Bistro so that is where we ended let me asure you it was delicious. We started with dirnks and calamari ad also truffled fries..all cooked perfectly. Our guests got fresh tuna tacos an the birsto burger and enjoyed both tremendously. My wife got the Tuna Nicoise which she enjoyed and I got the duck sliders and they were some of the best I have ever had. The drinks and the service was prompt and easy. We wanted the famous ice cream for deseret but the manager siad you can only get the ice cream at dinner. Strange but we adhered to what the told us and felt we had a wonderful experience at this little heaven on the water. It is a one minute walk from the dock.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“St John food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The location is wonderful, the drinks are excellent, the food was so so. I had Duck, the appetizers were not so great and the lobster bisque was a little fishy tasting. Our service was not good, the place was not busy, they get you started but only at a very Island pace and it took a long time to get out and on with our night. Would not return to this one, too pricey for so so food and not impressed with the service!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Menu constantly changes, and always satisfies. Service is good and the food always fresh and creative

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Bistro also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Caneel Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John

Been to Waterfront Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.