We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St John food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Bistro

Waterfront Bistro
Wharfside Village, Cruz Bay, St. John
340/ 777-7755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 45 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Lynchburg, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“St John food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The location is wonderful, the drinks are excellent, the food was so so. I had Duck, the appetizers were not so great and the lobster bisque was a little fishy tasting. Our service was not good, the place was not busy, they get you started but only at a very Island pace and it took a long time to get out and on with our night. Would not return to this one, too pricey for so so food and not impressed with the service!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    133
    50
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Great Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Menu constantly changes, and always satisfies. Service is good and the food always fresh and creative

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great brunch on Sunday.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had brunch on a Sunday morning and it was great. They have tasty omelets and eggs benedict. You can wash those down with mimosa's and bloody mary's.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best meal I had in St. John”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were going to go to High Tide next door, but it was crowded with a lot of drunk, loud people drinking brightly colored sugar & rum cocktails, loud TV screen & bit trashy. So we walked over to Waterfront Bistro. Probably the best food I've had on St. John, had no expectations, just walked in. We sat at a high table by the bar over looking Cruz Bay, no other waterside seats were available, it was fine, the bar wasn't noisy. Small menu and St. John prices, the waiter was pleasant and everything on the menu was his favorite so I suspected the food wouldn't be very good. I ordered the duck my partner the Tuna. To my surprise the duck was excellent, I could have been in Manhattan. I'll return on my next trip!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place for Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I just love coming here for lunch! The menu selection is small but varied, and the quality and portions are very good. The service is graciously unobtrusive, allowing you to enjoy your meal without being interrupted all the time. You just can't beat the views and atmosphere when you're trying to enjoy a caribbean vacation spot.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Bistro also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Waterfront Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.