We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Dinner after long day of travel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Bistro

Waterfront Bistro
Wharfside Village, Cruz Bay, St. John
340/ 777-7755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 39 restaurants in Cruz Bay
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Quakertown
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Dinner after long day of travel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We enjoyed dinner after a long day of travel and the staff was very accommodating. It is nice to eat right next to the water.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    218
    112
    44
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a nice relaxing evening eating dinner at the Waterfront Bistro. The food was very good, the views were great.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dinner under the stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Outstanding up scale food and presentation.
I especially enjoyed the asparagus soup and roasted beet salad. Be sure and try the duck comfit--it was delicious!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was our best meal the entire week. We went with a cheese platter for appetizer that was very good. I had filet and my husband had grouper that was sold as caught fresh that day. Dessert was a good caramel ice cream and the view was spectacular.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An unexpected gem.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I had read about Waterfront Bistro previously, but never visited on our prior trips to St. John. We decided to visit this year. We arrived late in the day, picked up some groceries at Starfish and dropped by the Bistro before crashing at Grande Bay for the night. We were pleasantly surprised! The ambiance was very romantic and elegant. Our food was very good as well. Our first course consisted of french onion soup and a caesar salad (both good). For dinner, I ordered the mahi in a citrus sauce and my husband the short ribs in a burgundy sauce. Both dishes were excellent. The service was slow and the prices were on the high side, but worth it. We will visit the Bistro again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Bistro also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Caneel Bay, St. John
 

Been to Waterfront Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.