We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner under the stars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Bistro

Waterfront Bistro
Wharfside Village, Cruz Bay, St. John
340/ 777-7755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 53 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Grand Forks, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner under the stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Outstanding up scale food and presentation.
I especially enjoyed the asparagus soup and roasted beet salad. Be sure and try the duck comfit--it was delicious!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Everywhere
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was our best meal the entire week. We went with a cheese platter for appetizer that was very good. I had filet and my husband had grouper that was sold as caught fresh that day. Dessert was a good caramel ice cream and the view was spectacular.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JMWorldTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An unexpected gem.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I had read about Waterfront Bistro previously, but never visited on our prior trips to St. John. We decided to visit this year. We arrived late in the day, picked up some groceries at Starfish and dropped by the Bistro before crashing at Grande Bay for the night. We were pleasantly surprised! The ambiance was very romantic and elegant. Our food was very good as well. Our first course consisted of french onion soup and a caesar salad (both good). For dinner, I ordered the mahi in a citrus sauce and my husband the short ribs in a burgundy sauce. Both dishes were excellent. The service was slow and the prices were on the high side, but worth it. We will visit the Bistro again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lovindislands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Romance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Beautiful setting on the beach! Candlelit! Quiet! Great place for romance! Seafood was perfect!! Service was attentive! Asparagus soup was fabulous!! Desserts to share!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cubsfan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Splendid waterfront view and excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed eating at the high top table in the bar area about 20 feet from the beautiful water. The bar service was efficient and friendly. The fillet of beef excellent and the scallops very good. Pricey with a limited menu but great experience when in St. John.

Helpful?
1 Thank Travel2livewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Waterfront Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing