We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food with a great view of Cruz Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Bistro

Waterfront Bistro
Wharfside Village, Cruz Bay, St. John
340/ 777-7755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 40 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Hurley, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good food with a great view of Cruz Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We decided to eat here the last night of our week long stay on St John. After a week of enjoying the many casual dining options on the island, we made the right choice here for a night of fine dining. Yes, the menu is bit on the pricy side, but you wont be dissapointed. The french parodox appetizer included a fresh pate with a sampling of brie and goat cheese that paired nicely with the Malbec. The arugula roasted beet salad with crumbled blue cheeses was my favorite. My husband ordered the tuna yellowfin tuna nicoise, an awesome choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    115
    45
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, even better view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I were staying on St. Thomas and took a boat over for dinner at Waterfront Bistro. We originally had reservations elsewhere, but switched on a recommendation from our boat captain. It was the right move. Excellent food and the view of the bay is the best we had while in the islands. We couldn't have asked for a better way to spend our last evening in USVI.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice waterfront dining in St. John”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Good setting with great views of St. Thomas. Food was good but prices were a bit steep. The homemade caramel almond ice cream was a delicious end to the meal.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROANOKE VA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best meal in the islands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Must do. Incredible view, incredible service and incredible food. They went way out of their way to make you feel welcome. Burger was best I have ever had, very upscale. Fish burrito special was excellent. Great wine selection, excellent mojito. You will love it. Will always be my #1 pick when ever I return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great view, great drinks and over priced food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you want a nice high end restaurant on the island, this is a good place to go. The menu isn't overly exciting. However, the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. Great view of Cruz Bay at sunset.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Bistro also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Waterfront Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.