We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful restaurant, awesome food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Bistro

Waterfront Bistro
Wharfside Village, Cruz Bay, St. John
340/ 777-7755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 39 restaurants in Cruz Bay
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Bozeman, Montana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“beautiful restaurant, awesome food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Best waterfront place in STJ to have a nice dinner.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    218
    113
    44
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Livingston New jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We ate here for lunch. It was very good. Great view.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“AWESOME ~ Best place I have dined on an island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We ate here with another couple. My husband and I can't say enough wonderful things about this place. All four of us enjoyed EVERYTHING from soup to nuts! It is truly a wonderful dining experience with top notch service and food. Can't go on enough about it. If you like duck, GET THE duck, if you like Scallops....they were AWESOME.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Should have been a wonderful dinner out!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I recently dined at the Waterfront Bistro in Cruz Bay. It had been highly reccommended by a local shop owner. The location is just great. it sits right on the bay, and has great sunset seating. We had not made a reservation, but were able to get a table near the back of the restaurant, which suited us just fine. The decor is attractive, but primarily due to the fact that the side is open air and overlooks the bay. I would definitely recommend reservations if you choose to go there. I would also recommend asking for a table on the water.
Things started off well, with a server who seemed attentive and some great cocktails. We ordered appetizers and an entree. Things went very wrong after that. My sister's appetizer came out and they asked if we were sharing. i said no, expecting mine to follow. 15 minutes later, still not appetizer and no service staff. I had to stop a waiter from another section to ask where my appetizer might be. After another delay, our original server returned and infomed me that she never submitted my order. Eventually my appetizer was served, only for my sister to sample it and find a very long hair in it. Needless to say, our appetites were diminshed by the time the entrees came. Unfortunately, the service and food were not close to being up to par at this restaurant, at least on this evening. There are much better places to dine in the Cruz Bay area. I jut can't recommend the Waterfront, even though it should have been a wonderful dinner out! The only good thing about this place is the location, and the other servers that I observed caring very well for their customers.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I took the ferry over from St Thomas with two very good friends from New Jersey for dinner.

The service was great and so was the food. We particularly enjoy the trio of desserts which consisted of a banana bread pudding which was excellent.

Definitely a restaurant to visit and I will probably go back. Very convenient in the sense that it is walking distance to the ferry pier.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Bistro also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Caneel Bay, St. John
 

Been to Waterfront Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.