We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dangerous swim to The Baths and miserable crew members” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Calypso Charters Bad Kitty

Calypso Charters Bad Kitty
The National Park Dock and Great Cruz Bay, Cruz Bay, St. John
1 340 777 7245
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 35 Activities in Cruz Bay
Type: Tours, Adventure
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dangerous swim to The Baths and miserable crew members”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We booked this trip while staying in St John. We called the booking line to book 7 people on this day trip. The cost was $150.00 and also an additional $40.00 cash fee to visit the BVI's. When we got to the meeting area there were no signs telling you where to go. After walking around for 10 minutes we finally found a man with a clip board. We filled out some paperwork and off we went to the ship. We were greater by an unpleasant woman who instructed us to place out shoes in a giant bucket, which I did not. We then got on the ship and the captain gave us a speech, it felt more like I had just signed up for the draft. He was not kind, sort of cranky and very matter of fact. He instructed us after boarding that we would need to swim 150 yards both ways in order to see The Baths at Virgin Gorda. This was never explained to us prior to booking or even prior to boarding. When we arrived at the spot most of our group did not go. I have taken several of these trips on different boats and have always had the option of taking a dingy to the area. This was the first time I was told thee would be a mandatory swim. While we stayed on the boat the captain took a nap. When people returned to the ship they were exhausted. Some people life vests had filled with water and were struggling to get back. It was insane. All in all it was a very strange trip with the captain and the female attendant going between being sort of friendly and not friendly at all. One of the people were Mike and he was the only person that was remotely nice. After the tour was over they begged for tips saying it was the only way they made money making you feel guilty if you did tip them.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    36
    21
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great excursion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Ok ... it isn't the cheapest thing you will do, but having done it, it is well worth the money. My wife and I went on with captain Chris and had a blast. Got to see amazing sites/beaches/vistas, and had a few "pain killers" on the way. It was a very good time and I would encourage others to take the trip (despite the cost).

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Gorgeous and so nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This was such a wonderful trip. They took us to different BVI islands and the staff was fantastic. It was a nice boat, nice use of time and got to have a taste of many islands. I would absolutely ride this again and recommend it to my friends and family.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great BVI TRIP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

If you go to St John or St Thomas don't go home without going to the BVI's. This trip is one of our favorites. The Baths are beautiful and Jost is an altimeter favorite too. Both are just beautiful. Staff was great!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Island overview”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Girlfriend trip and we decided to go on a charter to see some of the other islands. Bad Kitty is a 49 foot speed catamaran that visits Virgin Gorda, island-Spanish town and the baths, Cooper Island ( lunch stop here and food was delicious and views spectacular.) Norman island (snorkeling here but never went to actual island) Jost van Dyke where the famous soggy dollar bar was. There was fun atmosphere here and multiple bars. Would have been a fun day trip.
The crew consisted of Emily ( a marine biologist that knows so much!) Kara who was nothing but friendly and helpful with all people. Captain Joe, while he drove the boat efficiently lacked charisma and personality.
Overall was very happy with the trip and stops. Great idea of where you want to go back and maybe stay for a day.
There is no shopping opportunity on any stops because they go pretty fast!
Would recommend trip. Snorkeling was really wonderful. Lots of fish in the area and Emily found a starfish I got to hold. The cost is 150$ per person plus 40$ for customs since you go to British Islands and about 30$ for lunch and cocktail plus add 20% gratuity and the trip was about 240$ per person for the day.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso Charters Bad Kitty also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Calypso Charters Bad Kitty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calypso Charters Bad Kitty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.