We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Da Livio

Da Livio
Cruz Bay, Cruz Bay, St. John
340/ 779-8900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 53 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sewickley, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a 5 star pizza place with 4 star other courses and apps. They also under-serve on beverage size and add cost for things that should be free (grated cheese). Having said that, this may be The Best Pizza I have ever had. It is better then Pizzeria Regina. It is a World Class Pizza. A small pie with a thin crust. A great crust, good simple sauce, a quality cheese. I can understand a bad review for service, but anybody who describes this pizza as anything but excellent is misguided.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kurt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Italy revisited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Da Livio is the best restaurant on St. John! The housemade pasta is fabulous and reminds me of the delicious fare we enjoyed in Italy. The entrees are memorable, especially the branzino (sea bass) with arthichokes. If you are in a more casual mood, the brick oven pizza is definitely the best on the island. The relaxed service is perfect for this enchanted island. You will not go wrong here!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
88 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Genuine Italian in the Carribean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

What a nice surprise this little gem is. The chef/owner is from Italy and knows how to cook some great pasta.
The pizza cooked on the outdoor oven is some of the best we've ever had. We stay a month on St John and always eat here 3-4 times a year.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington,DC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Really small portions”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I want to echo what other reviewers have said--the portions are small and expensive. This week I ordered an eggplant parmigiana appetizer and I could have easily downed it in 2 bites. Also had the pizza which was ok if a bit soggy in the center. Main courses are expensive, $40 for osso bucco, a not-very-expensive cut of veal. Many of the higher end restaurants in St. John are expensive, above NYC prices, but this place is expensive and stingy with portion size. Zozo's is still my favorite and Mario Batali was seen dining at La Tapa last week. Try these places before heading to Da Livio's.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosetana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I thought this was one of the best pizzas I've ever had, not just on St. John, but anywhere. So obviously it's the best pizza on the island. The service was great, very friendly, and cozy atmosphere. I would go there again in a heartbeat!

Helpful?
Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Livio also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Da Livio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing