We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick outdoor lunch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Dog Cafe

Sun Dog Cafe
Mongoose Junction, Cruz Bay, St. John
+1 340-693-8340
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 39 restaurants in Cruz Bay
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Pizza, Healthy, Bar, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Sun Dog Cafe is a great casual dining option, and home to the Gecko Gazebo, our open air bar overlooking the gracious center courtyard of Mongoose Junction. A New York Times Travel and Leisure Pick for St. John, we serve lunch daily, dinner on weekdays, and brunch on Sunday in season. Don't Miss the Sunday Night Jam, from 7-10 pm weekly, a great musical event with local and visiting talent. Welcome!
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Quick outdoor lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We like Sundog for lunch. We get the fish tacos and they are light and not over seasoned and they have basic sides of beans, and cheese. The food is prepared well, and the portions are nice size. The location is nice if you want to do any shopping, since many stores are in that same area. The tables are shaded and it wasn't too hot to eat outside. The server was friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    218
    130
    17
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, TX
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We went to Sun Dog Cafe on a Friday evening partly because of the happy hour food snacks only to learn that they were only served at the bar in which every stool was filled. Also, the stools are high and I have short legs with knee problems, so I could not have sat there anyway. We did not let this bother us, but went on and ordered drinks and we split an order of stuffed spinach and artichoke dip bread and the Chimichuri steak with mashed potatoes and sauteed vegetables on top of the potatoes. This food was excellent. I was glad that we hadn't ruined our appetites with the bar food so we could enjoy this meal more. We probably would have come back if we had had more time on St. John. I highly recommend the food at Sun Dog Cafe.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, NH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had the BBQ pulled pork pastry puff while we were shopping at Mongoose Junction. It was awesome! The food was well-priced and nicely served so you definitely felt like you got what you paid for. I hope you are serving the pastry puff when I return!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lookout Mountain, TN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Food is always great-service is spotty, but food makes up for it! Great specials, great place to go for brunch!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jam Night at the Sun Dog”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great drinks and Great entertainment. It was just a Jam night but all the musicians rocked! The food was good too!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Dog Cafe also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Sun Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Dog Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.