We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always nice at Sun Dog” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Dog Cafe

Sun Dog Cafe
Mongoose Junction, Cruz Bay, St. John
+1 340-693-8340
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 42 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Pizza, Healthy, Bar, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Sun Dog Cafe is a great casual dining option, and home to the Gecko Gazebo, our open air bar overlooking the gracious center courtyard of Mongoose Junction. A New York Times Travel and Leisure Pick for St. John, we serve lunch daily, dinner on weekdays, and brunch on Sunday in season. Don't Miss the Sunday Night Jam, from 7-10 pm weekly, a great musical event with local and visiting talent. Welcome!
Fairfax, VA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Always nice at Sun Dog”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Good food, nice outdoor setting in Mongoose Junction, and kid friendly. What's not to like? Don't go too late or they run out of the fish special...

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    151
    18
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Grouper Tacos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This Cafe is situated within the Mongoose Junction buildings and shops - open air, only about 5 tables. Our 2 teenage daughters enjoyed virgin daquiris (Mango) that they said were the best they ever had while us parents dropped Spicy Bloody Mary's that were excellent! All of our meals were awesome - Grouper Tacos were in the top 5 I have ever eaten and I'm a Fish Taco snob. Jerk chicken and Chicken BLT Wraps rounded out the other wonderful lunches. Dont miss this great cafe.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manassas, va
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

just got back from dinner at Sun Dog Cafe. small place, fabulous food! the waitress talked me into the blackened tilapia special and it was great. all the food on the menu looked good. willl be going back before we leave St John.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lunch and shop!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Located in the middle of Mongoose Junction where lots of stores to shop. Outdoor eating tables under umbrellas and small bar with delicious rum punches. Good evening menu of entrees, but my favorite is the White Pizza for lunch with a rum punch!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“Warm dining, no view, but tasty.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This restaurant has dining in an interior courtyard amongst stores at Mongoose Junction. There are only five or so tables, and it's warm because it is outside but the ocean breezes are blocked by stores. Our server gave us great advice for our meals and she was very friendly. Our fish was served hot and was prepared perfectly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Dog Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sun Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Dog Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.