We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Banana Deck

The Banana Deck
3FB | Cruz Bay, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
+1 340-693-5055
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 47 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Aloha and welcome to The Banana Deck, home of the Big Deck Burger! Located in downtown Cruz Bay on St. John, we offer a full menu of casual Caribbean cuisine and American classics! We're all about providing good food and good service in a great atmosphere to bring our customers the best experience!
Plymouth, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Great view, food and service. Excellent location close to Warfside. Always a place to visit when on island.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    142
    42
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Great Steaks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Enjoyed a really good lunch and separate dinner at the banana deck on a recent visit to St. John. The waitstaff was very friendly and efficient with large parties. The serve great drinks, and the steaks we ordered for dinner were incredible! Nice outdoor seating area under a large shade tree. Fun time!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food in a laid back atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We loved our dinner at the Banana Deck. The food, service, and atmosphere were exceptional. Great seafood, and the specialty cheesecake dessert (can't remember the name) was divine.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do not order the Ribeye steak”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Went to the Banana deck w my family (husband, sister and two daughters). Our waitress stated we are known for our Ribeyes so i decided to get one. It was probably the worst steak i have ever had. Very fatty and chewy and no flavor. My husband and sister both had fish dishes which they said were okay. My two daughters had a pasta dish which were okay as well. Also wanted to get a cup of coffee with my dessert (Xango-which is very good) and was told "oh we don't serve coffee". What restaurant does not have coffee???

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“get the Xango”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Good place for dinner. The service was casual and friendly, The food was good; all five of us enoyed our dinner. The highlight was the desert. If we had known, we would have ordered more. Located across from the Beach Bar, its perfect place to go after happy hour

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Banana Deck also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to The Banana Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Banana Deck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.