We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back atmosphere, friendly servers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Banana Deck

The Banana Deck
3FB | Cruz Bay, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
340.693.5055
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #7 of 40 restaurants in Cruz Bay
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Laid back atmosphere, friendly servers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have been to Banana deck many times. This is one of the places we love to eat when we are on St. John. This is not a highly advertised place, but do not be scared by that! They did take the swordfish off the menu, and I did think that was one of the better things they had. They have this dessert that is a fried banana, and do not be scared, the fried banana is incredible!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    163
    87
    26
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Try the Banana Xaong Dessert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Had the caribbean chicken and my husband had the shrimp and scallop fettucini - both were delicious and huge portions so we had leftovers for dinner the next night :) We also ordered the Banana Xaong (not sure that is spelled right) for dessert, which our waitress said we HAD to try - yum, were we glad we did! We meant to get back here again during our stay, but didn't make it. It will probably be our first stop next time! Staff was very friendly and the service was quick.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Views and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went to The Banana Deck on a friends recommendation. What a fun place! Great views and delicious food. The bartender is super friendly and made us feel welcome immediately. We went for lunch one day (delicious burgers) and mashed potato soup that you have to try...delicious! The owner was our waiter and was super friendly. We would highly recommend and we'll be back when we visit St. John again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Fresh Food - Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is one of my favorite spots for fresh grilled mahi-mahi/fish or a great salad. Good service, great for famlies as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Had the Ribeye with Gorgonzola butter! So good! Great steak! And Doug made us a Mahi Mahi wrap with jalapenos and mushrooms, also excellent!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Banana Deck also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to The Banana Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Banana Deck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.