We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Banana Deck

The Banana Deck
3FB | Cruz Bay, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
340.693.5055
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 40 restaurants in Cruz Bay
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

It is easy to miss this spot. It is up rather high and between buildings. We had a nice lunch and margarita. Only one person was waiting tables and making drinks. Nice clean place with decent food and good views.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    178
    108
    34
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Dinner in Cruz Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very scenic restaurant overlooking Cruz Bay...Good food and service! Tasty drinks, too! The salads are huge and can be split by two people.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We ate here 3 times. Our first night food was so so, drinks was good, service was good. 2nd time was just for dessert and it was awesome! 3rd time wife wanted a steak and said it was great. Seafood sampler was great as well and so was the service, Jess did great!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“We ate here twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We really liked The Banana Deck. The staff was great and the food was better. I ate my usual chicken dish and my husband and daughter stuck with seafood. We really loved the Banana Caramel Xango-you must try it! We made reservations both times, but could have walked up with no problem.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We went to The Banana Boat on our first night. The service was not very attentive and I thought it was expensive for what I got. I ordered a ribeye, and it was extremely fatty - could only eat 1/2 of it. It wasn't a bad restaurant, but there are many others on St. John that surpass.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Banana Deck also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to The Banana Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Banana Deck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.