We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan's Mango

Morgan's Mango
across from the National Park dock, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
(340) 693-8141
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 39 restaurants in Cruz Bay
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: At Morgan’s Mango, we try to reflect the life of the islands, a place of dazzling light and color, tropical breezes and starry nights, a relaxed and sensory experience.Joining us, to share in the culinary history of an island world crowded with so many wonderful cultures that it takes your breath way. Our food covers many Caribbean and South American cuisines—Creole, Bahamian, Cuban, Jamaican, Haitian, Puerto Rican, Argentinian and Mayan. All of these cuisines have been influenced by the original inhabitants of the islands, the Arawak and Carib Indians, as well as the Africans, East Indians and Chinese who arrived later. Add to these the foods of the Spanish, French, British and Danish settlers, and you have an incredible melting pot of ethnic and classic cuisines.Hence Cuisines of the Caribbean, a neo-Caribbean experience conveying the juice and jazz of the islands, a carnival of flavors and lifestyles.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Good food in a casual atmosphere, but expensive. Feels more like an expensive bar than an elegant restaurant. Blackened shrimp appetizer is unbelievable!! Lobsters big and tasty.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdib, Owner at Morgan's Mango, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
We're happy to hear you find our blackened shrimp appetizer unbelievable! Our sincerest thank you for taking the time to share this glowing review with us, Robert. Next time you need a big and tasty lobster - you'll know where to find us!

Take care,
Carlos and Maria Ines, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    426
    252
    82
    34
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We had an enjoyable dinner here. We had the Cajun shrimp as well as the crab cake appetizers, both were good and the accompanying sauces good as well. I had the whole snapper special and my wife the swordfish special. We were both very pleased with our meal. The service by Bobby was just right, very knowledgeable about the specials and the menu. The hostess checked on us twice during our meal and the remainder of the people that served us were very pleasant. For those that say it's a little pricey, I would agree, but the prices are listed on their website, so if you look at the website the prices will come as no surprise. Overall a very enjoyable and relaxing experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdib, Owner at Morgan's Mango, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Greg, we're so pleased to hear that you and your wife enjoyed a nice evening with us. It sounds like you both sampled some of our house favorites, like the Cajun Shrimp, as well as our specials of the night, which is wonderful. We're very proud of the entire team we have here, but we'll be sure to pass your kind words along to Bobby! Thank you for making us a part of your trip to Cruz Bay — we hope to welcome you back the next time you're in the area!

All the best,
Carlos and Maria Ines, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lobster Tuesday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

The best deal in Cruz Bay for Caribbean Lobster! The lobster was fresh, prepared superbly and was priced below other restaurant's in town. This is where you have to go for lobster!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdib, Owner at Morgan's Mango, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Stephen, we're so glad we could be a part of your trip to Cruz Bay. It's great that you enjoyed a plate of delicious lobster — you can't beat the freshness and quality that we get in the St. John area! Thank you so much for leaving your review. The next time you're in the area, be sure to stop by on a Tuesday! It's our lobster night and we have a wide variety of fresh dishes that we're sure you'd enjoy.

All the best,
Carlos and Maria Ines, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Always a good meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We were a family of five and even though we did not have a reservation, we were able to get a table for dinner (June is low season). The food was very good, the service was a little off, but this was likely because the owner and his family were at the table next to us and they were definitely getting more attention from the staff.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdib, Owner at Morgan's Mango, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thanks for making us a part of your trip to Cruz Bay! While we're thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your dinner, we're sorry to hear that your service was off. The last thing we want is for our dining in the restaurant to take away from your experience. You should certainly expect attentive service throughout your meal, so we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip when you were here in June. The next time your family needs to escape that crazy Michigan weather to St. John, we'd love to welcome you back in!

Take care,
Carlos and Maria Ines, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Favorite restaurant in St John”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Been traveling to the great island of St John for 10 years and Morgans Mango is always our must go to restaurant. Food is consistently delicious and the wait staff is always friendly, helpful and just plain gracious. By far one of the best on the island. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdib, Owner at Morgan's Mango, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
After 10 years of traveling here, you're practically a local! It's wonderful to hear that you enjoy coming in for a meal whenever you travel to St. John. Thank you for taking the time to leave your recommendation. We look forward to many more years of visits!

Take care,
Carlos and Maria Ines, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morgan's Mango also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Morgan's Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan's Mango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.