We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view, food, and drinks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asolare

Asolare
Northshore Rd | Estate Lindholm Hotel, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
340 779 4747
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 42 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Cuisines: Asian, Caribbean, Bar, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing view, food, and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Amazing. I don't know what else to say. There is nothing on the island that remotely compares. The view is second to none, the atmosphere is awesome, dark, romantic, but still tropical. The food is unreal. The drink selection was the best of any place I have visited in the islands. Absolutely amazing selection of premium liquors and spirits.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    70
    43
    37
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“QUALITY FOOD IN A GREAT ISLAND ATMOSPHERE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have a condo on St. John and have been to this delightful restaurant many times in the past decade. Parking out front can be a bit tricky, but this restaurant is worth extra effort. I believe it started out as someone's large stone house and it overlooks Cruz Bay. The bar is very nicely done in island stone and wood and the bartender is terrific. Ask for a table along the outside railing for the best views. Fresh fish and some Asian dishes are strong points here and the chef knows what she/he is doing in the kitchen. The wine list is very good as long as you know there are no bargains to be had on this island.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Service was lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The restaurant has a great view. Definitely make a reservation for this place. My wife and I had 6:00 reservations. The very nice hostess asked if we would want to wait 15 minutes for a table along the rail. We decided to wait, and she cheerfully seated us in about 10 minutes. It was worth the wait.The bartender made us drinks during our wait. He was very professional and cordial. Our server, James, on the other hand, was not. We felt rushed the whole time. My wife and I have been here in the past. The last time was about 2 years ago, and we had the best service we've ever had on St. John. We were hoping for a repeat of that. My wife was having a hard time deciding what to order, and was asking for a little advice. James pretty much said "just order the chicken, you'll like it." and seemed annoyed to be asked anything about the menu. He couldn't answer basic questions about the flavors. The nicest he was to us was when he presented the check. Hmmm.
The food was great, and the chef even came to talk to each table. So, we would recommend this place for the ambiance and the food and the bar, but when you make reservations, ask to NOT be seated in Jame's section!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Decadence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just a lovely meal with great quality food put together in an artistic and delicious way. We went twice in one week! A must for any couple vacationing to Saint John's. Favorites were ahi tuna, churrasco, and corvina. Dessert is not optional...creme brûlée with lavender and cheesecake were magical! Yay Asolare!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Awesome location overlooking the bay and St. Thomas in the distance. Make sure to sit down before sunset so you can actually see! The food was good, not spectacular and the service was fine, a little slow, but fine by me on vacation. The view makes up for it though, don't miss this one.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asolare also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Asolare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asolare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.