We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil to your Saves list
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pentrebach, Pentrebach CF48 4BD, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pentrebach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We arrived and were welcomed by very friendly staff our room was ready and nice and warm as it had been snowing on our way down.We slept very well as it was nice and quiet although there was plenty of other guests.We also enjoyed our breakfasts at Table Table

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    50
    18
    9
    3
See reviews for
45
45
12
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I was here for one night whilst on business.

The check in was quick and the member of staff was friendly and quick and helpful.

My room was in the standard Premier Inn decor which was nothing fancy but clean and tidy with a good size TV and comfortable bed. The restaurant/bar for this hotel is in a separate building about a 1 minute walk.

Just a few mins walk around the corner there is a good size Co Op.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Check-in was quick and simple, the receptionist was friendly and explained all.

Room was comfy, clean and with tea and coffee.

WiFi was good.

We ate in the nearby Table Table for dinner and breakfast both visits were excellent with the staff being friendly and welcoming

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for a night after a day of walking in the Brecon Beacons. Rooms were spotless and had the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. Reception staff were polite and check in and out was very quick. Although some of the staff in the restaurant are miserable as sin the food was lovely. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had a great stay here for 2 nights. Reception lady was extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms spotlessly clean, bed very big and comfy. Visited the pub restaurant next door (Table Table) however, wasn't very impressed as the food was overly processed and barely luke warm. The staff were nice and friendly though.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms appear to be quieter as facing away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Arrived here late on a friday after a 4hr drive

Reception staff were superb and we were all checked in quickly

Room was clean and tidy and bed comfy as is norm for premier inn, bathroom had a shower and bath that ran so slow as to be nearly unusable, on complaining was told its a water pressure issue for all the hotel yet my friends rooms were unaffected.

The attached pub however was a different matter, staff rude and uninterested, kitchen closed at times 3hrs before stated closing times, orders wrong and refused to change
Utterly horrible people and totally let the premier inn down, avoid like the plague.

Complained to management who then claimed we were problematic, the fact he was laughing and smiling with the same staff told us all we need to know

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. At Whitbread it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service in all our establishments and I am sorry to learn that we have failed on this occasion. Please be assured at Premier Inn we take all feedback seriously and we would like the opportunity to investigate further. Please email your details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with our Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

It is a typical premier inn so you can't really say much. As it is in Wales it is best to drive as there is not much around. It is about £5 from the train station to the hotel.

The staff on the desk were really friendly.

I was there on business and opted for the £22.99 meal deal (Dinner+Drink and Breakfast)

The restaurant was a 2 minute walk across the car park. The first night it took two hours to complete a 3 course meal. The second night we were served by a young guy called Jordan. Very helpful and friendly, and even offered advice in regards to drinks as my colleague didn't drink. So I took advantage of two beers.

The room was clean. However the shower was not powerful enough and the heating in the room very limited considering we are in the Winter months. Also the walls a little thin so don't make too much noise!

Internet was very weak, even if you paid the 24hr fee of £3.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil

Address: Pentrebach, Pentrebach CF48 4BD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Merthyr Tydfil County > Pentrebach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pentrebach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil Hotel Pentrebach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.