We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, views, and amenities in St. John” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sail View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. John
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sail View
Save Saved
You added Sail View to your Saves list
Estate Carolina, Upper Carolina | Coral Bay, 00830, St. John   |  
Hotel amenities
Little Compton, Rhode Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Location, views, and amenities in St. John”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Our recent trip to St. John was pleasant and relaxing largely because of our lodging. Sail View has great views of Coral Bay from every room and the spacious decks. The villa is roomy and well appointed. We were able to cook meals in the kitchen on the professional stove with all the necessary cooking accessories. A new toaster oven, blenders, and other small appliances made life easy. Bedrooms are roomy with chests of drawers and AC. The separate outdoor grill area was a real bonus, as was the clothes washer and dryer. The location near route 10 and Coral Bay made access to beaches easy. Skinny Legs and other popular restaurants are 5 minutes away. We had a great time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
69
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The location is great - not far from the intersection of roads #10 and #20, which means easy access to beaches on North, Coral Bay, and East End.

We really enjoyed our stay, so please accept these comments as tips to better enjoy your stay and not as an attempt to dissuade you.

Great room is spacious and open to the view, which makes visitors feel open. The deck off the great room has no umbrella or shade. That is available on the lower decks.

Kitchen is not well-stocked. Salt and Pepper only spices. We left some olive oil and other things. No hot pads. So, if you plan to cook, bring EVERY consumable you need. Archaic toaster oven. No microwave in kitchen.

Counter stools and dining chairs are just flat wood, no cushions.

Unless you want to drink the filtered cistern water, bring your own.

Road to the top is rugged. I assume that is common for any house with a view.

There were some minor maintenance issues. But, on the positive side, there were a lot of towels, and it was great to have washer and dryer available. Huge, shared, outdoor grill area on separate level was great to spread out in.

I love being up in the trees for birding: Scaly-backed Pigeon, Lesser-Antillean Bullfinch, Smooth-billed Ani, etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have been to SailView twice in the past two years (2011& 2012). Mike and Eileen are wonderful hosts. We instantly felt at home as Mike and Eileen treat you like family. We thoroughly enjoyed our visits and are definitely going back to St. John. It's a lovely island where life is laid back and easy going. The restaurants are wonderful! We really enjoyed Skinny Legs. Morgan's Mangos is a very nice restaurant, although pricey. One night we went to The Shipwreck and saw Meryl Streep! I tried to get her autograph but she denied that she was herself! "No, I'm not her" was all she told me. Anyway, St. John is a wonderful, relaxing, enjoyable place to visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Eileen and Mike are wonderful hosts. Mike met us at the dock in Cruz Bay and took us to the jeep rental place. When we arrived at Sail View, Eileen greeted us with snacks and fruit bowls. They provided beach towels, beach chairs, a cooler and bug spray as well as bathroom toiletries. As for the hiking trails in St. John, Ram Head Trail was our favorite one - The view at the top of Ram Head is spectacular. Just be aware: It's hot, humid and buggy in May in St. John.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent a week at Sailview to celebrate our honeymoon. Words cannot express our gratitude for the hospitality of Eileen & Mike.

First, When we arrived to St. Thomas and there was a tropical storm passing through so the ferrys were shut down. Eileen call all around to find us another B&B. Once the storm passed, she guided us to St. John, and as soon as our ferry docked, Mike was patiently awaiting our arrival. The drive from Cruz bay to Sailview is beautiful. When we arrived we were greeted with delicious cocktails, homemade chocolate cookies, cheese, crackers and fruit. They also gave us a beautiful bottle of champagne and a sweet "congratulations" card. While we enjoyed our snacks, Eileen gave us a complete orientation of the island. Her recommendations were so helpful. She shared all of her local knowledge about dining, hiking, beaches, markets and other adventures. She gave us a map that had all of the pertinent information on it, which was our bible for the weekend.

The room is truly spectacular. All of the furniture is handmade and perfectly appointed. The room is spotlessly clean and smells amazing. The fridge was stocked with sodas, beer, fruit, yogurt, half and half, coffee, etc. They provide a cooler and chairs, which we appreciated so much as we beach hopped the whole week. The views are absolutely gorgeous and the outdoor kitchen and cooking area is very convenient.

There are so many things to love about St. John's. Coral Bay is really the place to be. Its quiet and Island rustic- a real get-a-way. Aqua Bistro, Skinny Legs, Ms. Vies and the Tourist Trap were our favorites. We recommend the Ram's head hike, snorkeling at Waterlemon, and kayaking with the group that Eileen recommends. We wished we could've stayed longer and I definitely cried on our last day because I didn't want to to leave. We are already planning our next trip back to Sailview!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great value, perfect location & wonderful hosts. Frig stocked with a variety of things. No need to run to Lillys or Starfish Market. Super clean, comfortable and cozy. Mike and Eileen were the perfect hosts. Sail View could become our "home away from home".

Kathleen and Matthew
Sycamore,IL

Room Tip: Only 2 studios available so book early. AC if needed. Great views to Coral Bay and beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

From the time we first met Mike at the ferry dock until we said good bye a week later, we felt like we had been staying with old friends. Mike and Eileen provided us with unmatched hospitality. The welcome snacks and the stocked fridge is a super nice touch. Eileen bakes her own cookies and banana bread, the best we've ever had. The private patio was used often for morning coffee and hanging out with lizards and Mr. Buttons, their cat. The view down to Coral Bay was amazing at any time of day. Eileen made sure we knew of all of the places to snorkel and eat, and provided a map so we wouldn't forget. Half way through our stay, Mike and Eileen offered to pick up some fresh fish from the marketplace in Cruz Bay while we snorkled the other side of the island. When we got home that day, we had the most beautiful piece of Mahi Mahi along with fresh Arugula, oranges and red onions. Eileen even made us HOMEMADE salad dressing and marinade!!!! Dinner outside that night on the deck with the open air kitchen was amazing.

Throughout our stay, anything we needed was gladly taken care of. Everything from the cooler we used every day, to the beach chairs, to the towels and sun screen. Even bug spray was provided.

Mike and Eileen's tips we invaluable, their hospitality unmatched, even among the finest hotels anywhere, you will not get better service. It's really not even service, it's a family member or a friend taking great care of you while you are on vacation. They make you feel at home.

I cannot stress enough how perfect our vacation was this year, and Sailview along with Mike and Eileen were the biggest part of it. We WILL be back!!! If anyone reading this wants to contact me with questions, please feel free to do so.

Ps- driving on left isn't so bad...

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sail View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sail View

Address: Estate Carolina, Upper Carolina | Coral Bay, 00830, St. John
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 Specialty Lodging in St. John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sailview St. John guests suites are well appointed and reasonably price. Nestled into a hillside overlooking Coral Bay Harbor a short drive to some of the most beautiful beaches in the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sail View Hotel St. John
Sail View St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sail View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.