We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Add us to the list...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sail View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. John
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sail View
Estate Carolina, Upper Carolina | Coral Bay, 00830, St. John   |  
Hotel amenities
Bowling Green, OH
1 review
“Add us to the list...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

... of couples who absolutely ADORED Sailview. We chose to stay there for our honeymoon June 18-25th, and had the most fantastic time. Mike and Eileen were beyond gracious and wonderfully friendly. It was our first trip to St. John and it sounds like we picked the perfect spot. We'll definitely return, and highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
69
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Hello all! My husband and I came to St John for our honeymoon and spent our time on the sleepy side of town called coral bay. Eileen and Mike were wonderful hosts. Not in our face, but always there when we needed anything. they had snacks for us when we arrived which was amazing since we got in so late and my husband wasn't feeling well. They even gave him a little card for his bday and gave us a bottle of champagne to celebrate. We had such a great time here. I will note though for some travelers
- You should have a sense of adventure to stay here. The road to get there is tough (but I loved it cause I love driving!)
- It is not located in Cruz Bay where all the comings and goings are happening. it is about a 15-20 minute drive there depending on hwo fast you can take the roads on st john. (but we didnt mind... it was so nice to have a destination after a full day of snorkeling and hiking
- there was no pool. (but we didnt miss it a second. Coming home and taking a shower was nice enough and then time to head back out again.)

All and All we loved it here and plan on returning as soon as possible!!!!! Fantastic experience.

Room Tip: Try to book the room on the opposite far end side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Mike and Eileen were the best host and hostess ever. Their home on St. John was everything and much more then we expected. It was just perfect from the welcome drinks, sandwiches, bug spray and suggestions to make our visit more special. We'll be back when we can find the time. Jeff and Pam

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

This place is really a gem in St. John. My husband and I loved everything about it. Mike and Eileen were great. They were open and ready to help when needed, but they also gave us privacy. We would come back to this place again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a week-long trip to Sail View St. John and were thrilled with our experience. The owners, Eileen and Mike, were the most welcoming hosts and really made our trip so special. From the wonderful sandwich and salad (and a great Dark and Stormy as well!) waiting for us when we arrived late from the airport to the fresh baked mango bread, pineapple, and snacks stocked in our fridge, we felt pampered and taken care of the entire time.

Our room was spacious and airy, and had beautiful views of Coral Bay. All the furniture was handmade by Mike and it was gorgeous! Our private balcony was the perfect spot for coffee and late afternoon cocktails. The shower was wonderful and little touches like the Caldrea hand soap and plush towels just felt luxurious.

Sail View has an outdoor kitchen that is fully stocked with utensils, pots and pans, and more. We opted to grill a couple of nights and Eileen even picked up some fresh mahi mahi for us to cook, which was delicious. It was a great option to be able to eat in a couple nights especially since the dining in St. John is so expensive.

We loved Sail View so much that we are planning to return next year for 10 days! It is such a special little gem on the beautiful island of St. John. Thank you Mike and Eileen for everything!!

Dining/Activities on St. John:
We ate at Sweet Plantains in Coral Bay 2 nights because we just love the exotic Caribbean/West Indian-spiced dishes they serve. The erotic spice martini is the best drink I've ever had - don't miss it.

We tried Aqua Bistro in Coral Bay and had a nice meal, but it wasn't anything special. We both had fish and it was fresh and well-prepared, but just nothing out of the ordinary.

Per Eileen's recommendation, we also tried La Plancha Del Mar in Mongoose Junction in Cruz Bay and absolutely loved it. The deconstructed Paella and crispy duck appetizer were our favorites. The atmosphere is wonderful as well...very romantic and beautifully decorated with large canvas prints and bright colors.

For an inexpensive and delicious breakfast, try the Donkey Diner in Coral Bay (just down the hill from Sail View). If you go on a day that they are serving mole, you must try the mole breakfast burrito -- it was amazing!!

For bars - we loved Skinny Legs and Island Blues in Coral Bay. Both were very close to Sail View and both had live music that we really enjoyed. Great inexpensive drinks and local flare!

We took a sailing trip on the Wayward Sailor with Capt. Phil one day and had a fantastic experience. He took us to a couple hidden snorkel spots and really educated us on the different kinds of fish and coral we were seeing. I would highly recommend doing this trip - and it was fairly inexpensive at $115 per person for a full day!

St. John Beaches:
Trunk Bay and Cinnamon Bay are probably the most visited by tourists, so I'd stay away from these. However, both are very picturesque and beautiful - so you can't really go wrong.

We really enjoyed Maho Bay - very quiet and calm water. Wonderful shady spots under the mangrove trees.

We visited Little Lameshur Bay because we heard it had great snorkeling. While we enjoyed the snorkeling, Waterlemon Cay is much better. I'd skip Lameshur next time around.

Our favorite beaches on the island were Honeymoon and Solomon. You can park at the Caneel Bay resort and walk the trail to Honeymoon (and then continue onto Solomon if you wish). Parking at Caneel is $10, but if you buy anything $10+ while you are there (ie a drink at the bar or a souvenir), the parking fee is waived. It is totally worth it to get to these beaches. They are totally secluded and honestly some of the most amazing beaches I've ever been to (and I've been all over the Caribbean!).

Snorkeling:
The best snorkeling we experienced was on the sailing trip we took to Christmas Cove. I'd recommend taking a trip one day to see some hidden spots only accessible by boat. We saw turtles, angel fish, sting rays, stunning bright colored coral, and more.

We loved the snorkeling at Waterlemon Cay - but you definitely need to be a strong swimmer to make the trek since it's a pretty substantial swim.

We also really enjoyed the snorkeling in between Honeymoon and Solomon Beaches - the visibility is great when it's sunny (which it is everyday in St. John!). We saw sting rays here and an abundance of gorgeous fish and coral.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

6th trip to St. John and 2nd stay with Eileen and Mike at Sailview

Eileen and Mike are wonderful people who are very caring and considerate and truly want to make your stay a great experience. The rental is fully stocked with everything you might need to start your vacation off (Drinks, snacks, sandwiches, fruit, yogurt, beach chairs, coolers, bug spray, suntan lotion, etc...)

The location is great, the views are great, the condition of the unit is great, the linens are great, Eileen and Mike are great, Dark n Stormys are great, pretty much everything is great!

A recommendation.... ask Eileen about a Dark n Stormy!!

Nothing better in our honest opinion then......... an early sunny morning + loaded cooler + great tunes on the ipod + comfortable beach chairs + cold drinks( Bailey smoothies) + incredible St. John beaches + mind blowing views = peace and serenity and a wonderful relaxing vacation!!

Anyway that's our formula for a great vacation!

We are perfect so far with Sailview.....well probably because Sailview is just so perfect for us!

Laurance Rockefeller's gift to the National Park Service is the best thing to every happen to St. John!

And finding Eileen and Mike has been the best thing to happen to us on our yearly vacation to beautiful St. John!!

Bottom line just booked our third stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Sail View is an urbanite's idea of the perfect island getaway. Starting with the bumpy drive up the unpaved road as you climb the hill to your hilltop paradise, you feel like you're leaving blacktopped civilization behind. And then happily waiting for you at the top is exactly what you wanted, the best of both worlds. An intimate two-unit guest house created by a New York couple with a background in the art and restaurant world, Sail View is rustic island bliss without sacrificing any of the aesthetics and conveniences of the city you left behind. Your room is a zen haven with a private terrace overlooking the postcard perfect bay. From the subtle sophistication of the pattern in the hand-laid marble floor to cut of the furniture crafted by the owner, to the perfect snack left for you in the tiny refrigerator, you know you're in good hands. Your hosts understand the fine art of leaving you completely alone and being available if you need them. Drive down the hill in the morning and you're minutes away from a pristine public beach that will seem private by city standards. That evening, go a few minutes in the opposite direction for dinner at a sparkling restaurant without walls - as savvy as any gourmet city hotspot but here you sip your wine with ocean breezes wafting over you. A couple days of this and you'll feel like you live there. And Sail View will become your new home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sail View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sail View

Address: Estate Carolina, Upper Carolina | Coral Bay, 00830, St. John
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Specialty lodging in St. John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sailview St. John guests suites are well appointed and reasonably price. Nestled into a hillside overlooking Coral Bay Harbor a short drive to some of the most beautiful beaches in the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sail View Hotel St. John
Sail View St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sail View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sail View to your Saves list