We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salomon Beach

Salomon Beach
Outside of Cruz Bay, off route 10, down trail, St. John
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 55 Attractions in St. John
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
nashville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

overall my favorite st john beach. quiet, calm, secluded. we took our 3 kids (age 7,7,4) by way of the upper lind point trail. I think a little harder hike than the lower lind point trail but they did fine. beach is totally worth the 20min hike. not many people at all. saw a chicken and a few iguanas just hanging out with us on the beach. apparently this has been a nudist beach---we saw a nude swimmer when my son and i were snorkeling but he put on his swimsuit before emerging on the beach. great for swimming and easy snorkeling at the reef b/w salomon and honeymooon.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    14
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great hike to a gorgeous beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

It's a short hike- great for kids (my kids are 6,7 & 9) we also saw donkey's on our way to the beach- so that was exciting. We carried 2 chairs, beach bag & small cooler and we were fine. We made the mistake last year of not coming prepared and this year we knew we would want to stay the day. Parking is tough- if you go into the visitor center they will give you a day pass to park in employee parking- you do have to leave your license and be back by 4:30. Not much snorkeling, but a quiet, pristine beach. This beach is also known to be a clothing optional beach- and both times we have been there it's never been an issue.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elysburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Nice Hike to Salomon Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Best to hike in the morning before it gets to hot. The hike starts behind the St. John National Park Visitor Center. You can park at the Visitor Center for the hike but don't park there to walk around town or they will ticket you, according to the ranger at the visitor center. Take water and snorkel gear. Good snorkeling around the point to Honeymoon Beach. Very nice sand and a few palm trees.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Little Slice of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

One of my favorite beaches on St. John. It's only accessibly by walking so it keeps the crowd to a minimum - pick up the trail behind the VI National Park Visitors Center. Small beach but definitely one of the most beautiful. Great snorkeling as well.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Gorgeous secluded beach. I like that the hike dissuades the masses from coming here but you still need to come early to feel like the beach is all yours :)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salomon Beach also viewed

Caneel Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Salomon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salomon Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.