We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth the hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salomon Beach

Salomon Beach
Outside of Cruz Bay, off route 10, down trail, St. John
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 81 things to do in St. John
Attraction details
kansas city, mo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“well worth the hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

hot, rocky hike to get to the beach, but well worth it. Have been here twice now, and each time we've been the only people in sight.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    15
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“One of our favorite beaches on St. John”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We traveled to St. John and stayed at Caneel Bay in June 2012. Salomon beach is right next to Honeymoon beach, one of Caneel Bay's 7 beaches. We hiked to Salomon numerous times during our stay at Caneel Bay and it was one of our favorite beaches. It is a beautiful and fairly secluded beach -- we were often the only two people there. As others have mentioned, it is a picture perfect beach -- several palm trees, white sand, crystal blue water, and always a sail boat or two in the distance. There are no chairs or anything, so we brought our parasheet. We also enjoyed the snorkeling here, at the reef between Salomon and Honeymoon, but there was also nice snorkeling to the left of the beach (when facing the ocean). Salomon beach can be reached by hiking the Lind Point trail. It is approximately 1 mile from Cruz Bay, and the trail starts behind the visitor's center. It is a beautiful beach and well worth the hike to get there.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not the greatest”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I took the hike to the beach. The hike was the best part! We saw a few deer and iguanas. Once we arrived at the beach we were greatly disappointed. The beach was dirty and had an odd smell. Save your time and hit up salt pond, trunk, or cinnamon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Have the beach to yourself”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We took a nice little hike to Honeymoon and Salomon Beach. At first the beach was overrun with cruise ship passengers. After about 40 minutes, they were gone and we had Honeymoon Beach to ourselves. We had to share Salomon Beach with three sunbathers and an iguana.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not for flip flops”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The beach was truly picture perfect. sand, palm trees and iguana's roaming around and checking out the people as well as the beach. Not all that many people and some pretty good snorkeling. Price of admission was about a half mile long trail to the beach that was fairly steep and rocky. Not a bad hike but not for flip flops.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salomon Beach also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Caneel Bay, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Salomon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salomon Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.