We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have to stop here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kro-gu

Kro-gu
Wharfside Village, 00831, St. John
340-714-1111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 Shopping in St. John
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Recognizable, yet each piece is a truly one of a kind functioning work of art. Kro-gu Jewelers flagship store located in the Caribbean on the beautiful paradise island of St. John is internationally branding the Kro-gu Jewelry as a brand.The word "Kro-gu" is derived from the Old Slavic and means "binding" or "a band around a finger". Kro-gu is a free form and dynamic , like a sculpture. Its great variety of forms is the result of daily artisanal process , reflecting the diversity of emotions that affects the silversmithing artist. Our jewelry carries 950 mark because we use 95% of silver (and 5%of copper) instead of 92.5% (925) sterling silver. That way , we found , jewelry is easy to maintain- easier to adjust the size (higher amount of silver brings more flexibility) and easy to preserve the color . All stones are genuine.
Stromsburg, Nebraska, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Have to stop here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Just bought my wife a second "one of a kind" piece from the artists at Kro-gu. Peter, as before, was very helpful in describing the jewelry and helping to find the just right piece for her. While some of the jewelry sold in St. John and St. Thomas is "cookie-cutter" each piece here is truly the only one like it. If you're planning to buy jewelry in the USVI, you have to shop Kro-gu.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Kro-gu Jewelers is a must if you are headed to St John!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Very special, one of a kind unique pieces are the big attraction at this St John jewelry store. Visiting Peter and seeing what's new in his shop is always a highlight on our trips back to this beautiful island. Great product and great value, and Peter is a great guy to work with!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique Jewelry Kro-gu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Found the unique store at the end of a short alleyway quite by accident but what a pleasant find. My friends and I were charmed by the very nice owner who showed us his unique silver and stone jewelry. I left with a fantastic ring, my friend with a necklace. Beautiful treasures from St . John. You must visit this spot when you visit St John....sending some more friends over on the ferry today.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The definition of unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Kro-gu jewelers is a must visit when in St. John. Peter presents one of a kind silver and stone jewelry that defines the word unique. We have been to the island three straight Februarys and my wife has left with a gorgeous birthday present each year. Peter makes the sale a pleasure and we wish him the best on his upcoming nuptials. See you next year.
Paul and Stephanie Kross
Macon, Georgia

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praia, Cape Verde
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful store, beautiful jewelry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Every time I come off the ferry in Cruz Bay, I always visit Kro-gu Jewelers, a beautiful gallery of one of a kind jewelry. At first sight, this unique jewelry intrigues you with a vast variety of shapes and forms.That is when the knowledgeable owner (Peter) helps in selecting the perfect piece. I highly recommend a visit to this little gem!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kro-gu also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Kro-gu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kro-gu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.