We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My husband and I were married on Peace Hill!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peace Hill Windmill

Peace Hill Windmill
St. John
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 84 things to do in St. John
Attraction details
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My husband and I were married on Peace Hill!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Peace hill is amazing. My husband and I chose to be married right under the arch of the entrance to the windmill. We visit every year we come back, we love it so! And Denis is one of my favorite beaches to visit, too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dvonalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Short & sweet but worth the time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

It is a free place to visit so the value can't be beat! Make sure to hike/walk there to get the most out of the great sites & history. Its about an hour total to visit but it's worth it & allows you to get more than one place to see in day or short period of time!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is a must see short hike. Amazing views of the north shore beaches. There's also a nice little trail hike to the right that takes you down to Denis Bay. Worth the climb back up however!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DadwithTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Quick with a nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Just off the road is a sign for Peace Hill. It's a quick 5 minute hike to the top. You can do it in flip flops. At the top is the old windmill base with a terrific view of Hawksnest Beach and some of the surrounding outer islands can be seen. Great photo op. This is an easy side diversion that takes as little as 15 minutes or you can linger and enjoy the view.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cristip_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old St. John”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Only a short distant from Cruz Bay and right off the main road, this remnant of the past offer a glimpse of the sugar mill past of St John, as well as a great view of the beaches. Off to the side is a hidden trail to a secluded beach. Visit it if you have the time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary_Clarke_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peace Hill Windmill also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Peace Hill Windmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing