We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for kids of all ages!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gibney Beach

Gibney Beach
North Shore Road, St. John
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 55 Attractions in St. John
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
KC, MO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun for kids of all ages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Everyone will enjoy Gibney Beach! It is a small beach with only 3 parking spots but not to worry if you don't get one of them, you can swim/snorkel there from Hawksnest. Enjoy the snorkel over and then have fun and take turns on the tire swing hanging from a palm tree...don't forget your camera!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
103 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Our new favorite beach in St John”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Maho Beach has been our favorite for quite some time during our visits to St John. However, lots of people have found it now and they've added convenient parking so it's a little more accessible. We visited Maho this time and decided to try Gibney.

We tend to get there early in the morning so the 3 convenient parking spots are generally open. Parking can be a problem and it's a little walk to the beach but this is our new favorite beach. I'd encourage everyone to get there around 9, leaving the prime spot for us!!! It'll be hard to go elsewhere for us. The beach is a little more sloped than Maho but nothing major.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“shhhh don't tell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

A great secluded beach, limited parking though, Sand is narrow, tire swing is so cool! no ammenities so be prepared.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Wonderful little hidden gem accessible from Hawksnest via snorkeling or swimming. If you are lucky you can also manage to get one of the few parking spots near the front gate on North Shore Rd. (if you are lucky and EARLY)
Lots of shade and a gorgeous spot to spend time while on St. John.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Our favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Be sure to get here early as there is only a few spots to park.This is the reason why we loved this beach,the lack of people. Remember in the morning to bring some bug spray. The best snorkeling is to the right of the Oppenheimer house looking at the water.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gibney Beach also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Gibney Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gibney Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.