We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new favorite beach in St John” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gibney Beach

Gibney Beach
North Shore Road, St. John
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 83 things to do in St. John
Attraction details
north carolina
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
138 attraction reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
“Our new favorite beach in St John”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Maho Beach has been our favorite for quite some time during our visits to St John. However, lots of people have found it now and they've added convenient parking so it's a little more accessible. We visited Maho this time and decided to try Gibney.

We tend to get there early in the morning so the 3 convenient parking spots are generally open. Parking can be a problem and it's a little walk to the beach but this is our new favorite beach. I'd encourage everyone to get there around 9, leaving the prime spot for us!!! It'll be hard to go elsewhere for us. The beach is a little more sloped than Maho but nothing major.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    3
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“shhhh don't tell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

A great secluded beach, limited parking though, Sand is narrow, tire swing is so cool! no ammenities so be prepared.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Wonderful little hidden gem accessible from Hawksnest via snorkeling or swimming. If you are lucky you can also manage to get one of the few parking spots near the front gate on North Shore Rd. (if you are lucky and EARLY)
Lots of shade and a gorgeous spot to spend time while on St. John.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Our favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Be sure to get here early as there is only a few spots to park.This is the reason why we loved this beach,the lack of people. Remember in the morning to bring some bug spray. The best snorkeling is to the right of the Oppenheimer house looking at the water.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Early risers get a practically private beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

this is a beautiful beach on which there are only a couple cottages and for which there are only 5 parking spots. Therefore, if you get there around 8:30 you will be almost alone until about 11:00. If you get there early you can go to the end of the beach and you will feel like you have the beach to yourself. This is not a snorkling hot spot, just beautiful water.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gibney Beach also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Gibney Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gibney Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.