We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ending to our St. John sojourn.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Treetops

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. John
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Treetops
Save
You added Treetops to your Saves list
Pelican Road | Fish Bay, St. John   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 St. John B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great ending to our St. John sojourn.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were so very happy to discover Karen & Hank's hideaway . Comfortable and well thought out for privacy and peace. We felt very "taken care of" from the tasty breakfasts to the outings on Pot Luck. Small fridge in the room, soaps & lotions, ceiling fan, great deck--every need covered. Thank you for your hospitality and kindness.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
NYC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Made our trip, what a great guy! We took the 3 kids (10,8, and 5) out on the boat and Hank couldn't of been a better Captain. He took up to all the great snorkeling spots, would stop and give us some history about various parts of the island, and was wonderful with the kids. This really was the highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank livineasystill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

First time visiting St John. Had an excellent time. Karen and Hank were great. Hank pretty much laid out our trip for us. He recommended various beaches and restaurants, which were all great calls. Looking forward to going out on his boat next time. Karen's breakfasts were terrific.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottA201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our 5 nights at Treetops was a wonderful experience. We immediately felt right at home in this cozy house tucked right into the mountainside. Karen and Hank were great hosts; down-to-earth, full of great advice and willing to help out any way they could. We stayed in the First Mate's Quarters, which was clean, adorable and private. We loved sleeping with the breeze and the sound of the tree frogs; like sleeping outside! Breakfast was fresh fruit, juice, coffee and home-baked bread or muffins. The trip on Hank's boat to special snorkeling spots in the Park was a highlight of our trip. We felt this was very affordable and would love to return.

Room Tip: First Mate's Quarters doesn't have AC, but with the breeze and fans it was not needed. The p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 498KateP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

It was our first visit to St. John, but Karen and Hank made it seem like we were visiting old friends. Chatting with them over breakfast was a delight, and their advice guided us to great destinations for the rest of the day. We stayed in the First Mate's Headquarters, which has a balcony that stretches out into the canopy of the forest. Sitting there at night with a glass of wine looking at the stars and listening to the tree frogs was a perfect way to finish off the day. Treetops is a great place run by a delightful couple – it fully deserves all the positive feedback from the other reviews.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grabban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Salem, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Thanks to Hanks and Karen we had a wonderful vacation at St. John. We felt right at home and their advice hit the mark for what we enjoy when on vacation. We found that we loved to snorkel the many beaches and hike the many trails. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovetoHikeWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Hank and Karen were the perfect hosts of our 4 night stay on St. John in their Treetops Bed and Breakfast. What a perfect way to enjoy the beautiful island of St. John. Their home is a comfy bungalow in the woods where you can enjoy all the sights and sounds of nature. Our accomodations were very comfortable and all their special touches were appreciated such as snorkel equipment, beach chairs, beach towels, and toiletries to name a few. We especially enjoyed our leisurely mornings where we enjoyed a delicious breakfast with Hank, Karen, and their other visitors. We certainly were entertained by Hank's stories- lots of laughs! Karen generously drove me to a local beach while my husband went out fishing with Hank and enjoyed a great day out on the water. Hank and Karen truly made our experience so very special. We strongly recommend a stay at Treetops and we certainly plan on coming back!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John
1.9 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
1.7 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#4 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 449 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 707 reviews
1.9 mi away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops

Address: Pelican Road | Fish Bay, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St. John
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you enjoy hiking any of the many ruin-studded trails on St. John, or raising a glass at one of the many world famous beach bars, make Treetops your choice for convenient and economical accommodations. Nestled into abundant vegetation in tranquil Fish Bay, "Treetops" offers guests an affordable alternative to large resorts and pricey villas. This 3-guest room B&B has comfortable accommodations in queen-size beds. "The Captain's Quarters" is an air-conditioned 2-room suite with queen bed plus single day bed, kitchenette, lavatory and private, enclosed outside shower. "The First Mate's Headquarters" also has a queen-size bed, fridge, full (indoor) bath, and private deck. "The Bunkhouse" has a/c, fridge, lavatory and shower. *EACH OF THE ROOMS RENTS SEPARATELY. *Because of the steepness of the yard and height of the decks, Treetops is not recommended for small children. * The entire house can be rented out (all 3 guest rooms and owners' quarters) during Christmas week ONLY. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Treetops St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing