We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Bay

Francis Bay
St. John
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 83 things to do in St. John
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Swimming, Sunbathing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A pretty and amenable bay on St. John’s north shore. Beware: no changing facilities here.
Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Out of the way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

but worth a visit. Great snorkeling but there are no facilities. If you're in Cruz Bay, it's bit of a drive so take a picnic!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    44
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Ga
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“An unsung winner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This beach is awesome and my favorite. Great sand and easy entry to snorkeling areas. Plenty of marine life including turtles, stingrays and many other reef fish. Barracuda, tarpon and parrot fish are abundant and great to observe. Great beach, don't miss it. Go to the Annaberg ruins, at the split in the road go left and travel to the end of the road. It's a very short walk to the beach and worth it.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“BAIT FISH!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Well some people that were staying near us suggested Francis, so we went. I have never seen millions of bait fish like this all in one place ever in my life. It was ridiculous. Actually, it scared me. Big fish eat bait fish, so in order to avoid sending the wrong impression I exited the water. We did see tarpon swimming amongst the bait fish. I also saw a reasonably sized barracuda here as well. According to some of the other reviews, other people don't mind swimming with bait fish. This was just not for me! It was fun to sit on the shore and watch the pelicans dive in to get some food. That was really cool to watch!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Doesn't get much better.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

There are better-known North Shore beaches but Francis Bay is hard to beat. Long stretch of white sandy beach, very calm water, very good snorkeling. We arrived at 9 AM and enjoyed having the beach and the water virtually to ourselves for a couple of hours. Other advantages of early arrival: abundant shade, pleasant lighting for photographs, and access to one of the limited parking spaces. Pit toilets and picnic tables but not much else in the way of facilities.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Favorite Beach on St John”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I have been to Francis Bay 6 or 7 times during visits to St John at it has become my favorite beach. Water is so calm....take a raft to float....you will absolutely love it. Every time at Francis I have seen turtles eating in the sea grass. The turtles hang out to the right (when looking out to from the beach). You can walk to the end of the beach and enter the water there. The best coral is on the right side as well. The water is rougher the further you go out but I have never had an issue. I usually see several stingrays around as well. The only down side to this beach is that parking can be limited and the only restroom is a permanent port-a-john although this could be the reason the beach is rarely crowded. I would suggest renting a car and beach hopping so you can take in several beaches with Francis Bay at the top of the list!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francis Bay also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Caneel Bay, St. John
 

Been to Francis Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.