We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“scenic and quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Bay

Francis Bay
St. John
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 81 things to do in St. John
Activities: Swimming, Sunbathing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A pretty and amenable bay on St. John’s north shore. Beware: no changing facilities here.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“scenic and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

went there for some snorkel and to relax, it was great and quiet. Not too many people on the beach not many kids screaming and running around, yet it would be great for families to go to with young children.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    41
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Grove, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good snorkeling and long swims”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Foliage above the sand for shade and lots of sea grass for the sea turtles. The only down side is the plethora of boats and yachts outside the swim/snorkel zone.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester , NY
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great beach to hit during crowded peak tourist weeks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Parking at the better known north shore beaches is a real problem in peak weeks ( we were there Xmas to past New Year's ) but this place never is 'full' given its furthest from Cruz Bay on North Shore but be aware the parking down near beach can involve a walk along a really rutted / muddy dirt road . Drive down to end and drop folks / chairs off and then go back to find a place to park is best way to handle .

Sweet beach ( good amount of sand between ocean and trees unlike other beaches ) and plenty of space . Pretty good snorkeling .

We had planned to go to Waterlemon last week but the big east winds made it very choppy so Francis Bay just down road was a pleasant fallback ( was very protected from easterlies ) .

No facilities there as I recall so that can be an issue .

Funniest thing we saw whole week on St John was the chicken living in woods behind beach who snuck out to grab any loose food we had lying about . I had never seen a chicken on a beach before this

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“lovely beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I had my heart set on going to Cinnamon that day but parking was so impossible that we ended up having to keep driving and arrived at Francis Bay. I really wanted to not like it so I can convince the rest of the party to leave, but alas, it convinced me. The water was pristine. The sand was soft. Although there is no "snorkel trail" like at Trunk Bay, there were plenty of sea life. We went out towards the reef a little bit and saw a bunch of sting rays and 3 huge turtles and some really colorful fish. Even right by the beach, there were some fish and sting ray swimming along and you can see them while standing there. For my mom and future mother-in-law neither of whom are comfortable with the water, it was quite a treat to be able to just stand by the edge and see all of the fish swimming around. Francis Bay is now on my must do list next time.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great family beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Away from the crowds and an excellent swiiming place. Some snorkeling would be good around the hill to the right, just a great afternoon place to hang out. One PortaPotty that is not porta, and no other facilities. Worth the walk if you have a car or can drive to with SUV. There is also a board walk through the mangroves if you want a little adventure. The end of the trail had too many bees around so we went back. Lots of fiddler crabs on the ground off the boardwalk.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francis Bay also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Caneel Bay, St. John
 

Been to Francis Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.