We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After you've seen Trunk Bay, save money and come here instead” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Bay

Francis Bay
St. John
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 55 attractions in St. John
Type: Bodies of Water, Beaches
Activities: Swimming, Sunbathing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A pretty and amenable bay on St. John’s north shore. Beware: no changing facilities here.
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“After you've seen Trunk Bay, save money and come here instead”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Francis Bay is one of my favorite beaches on St. John. It's a stunning white sand beach flanked by the towering green hills so characteristic of this charming island. It lacks the facilities of nearby Trunk Bay, which is a positive from my perspective because it keeps down the crowds. If you want to spend time at a beach every bit as lovely as Trunk, with smaller crowds and no parking fee, this may be your best bet.

My favorite activity in St. John is snorkeling, and there's nothing I enjoy more than swimming with sea turtles. To that end, I saw more green sea turtles at Francis Bay than I saw anywhere else in St. John. On one swim, I saw six! Explore the grass bed in relatively deeper water on the right hand side of the bay, and you won't be disappointed. Now, admittedly, there are other spots with better/more accessible coral (Scott Beach, Henley Cay, Waterlemon Cay, Salt Pond, etc) but the number of turtles alone was enough for me to give this beach five stars.

My recommendation? Go to Trunk Bay on the first day of your trip. If you've not been to St. John, you'll be glad to have seen it. After that, save money, and come here instead. On second thought, don't... I'd prefer to keep the crowds small!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    32
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Turtles, rays, and big fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

There were some great turtles and a stingray on this overcast day at Francis. These are about 30' off the rocks in the grassy, sandy areas. I also enjoyed the bigger Parrotfish which to me are always happy and smiling. These were towards the point where the current picks up a bit. Beautiful beach too and not very crowded!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colts Neck, NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Quiet beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Beautiful quiet beach, with great snorkeling. Pretty trail that leads to beach. Trail not to long and has small boardwalk.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Beach!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is an awesome beach! It wide with plenty of space to spread out. We always see sea turtles, sting rays, and tons of fish. We were all hanging out in the water and a small 1 foot sting ray would swim between the 6 of us for about an hour. Very cool! Limited parking so go early in the day. You will not be disappointed!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Love, love, love!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Love this beach. Found it back in July 2012 after touring the Annaberg Sugar Ruins. It is perfect for anyone as the water is calm and the beach is long. Parking is limited, but it is a very short walk to the beach from parking. Loved it so much, came back May 2013.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francis Bay also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Caneel Bay, St. John
Caneel Bay, St. John
 

Been to Francis Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Francis Bay to your Saves list