We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Beach!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Bay

Francis Bay
St. John
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 81 things to do in St. John
Activities: Swimming, Sunbathing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A pretty and amenable bay on St. John’s north shore. Beware: no changing facilities here.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Beach!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is an awesome beach! It wide with plenty of space to spread out. We always see sea turtles, sting rays, and tons of fish. We were all hanging out in the water and a small 1 foot sting ray would swim between the 6 of us for about an hour. Very cool! Limited parking so go early in the day. You will not be disappointed!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    41
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham, NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Love, love, love!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Love this beach. Found it back in July 2012 after touring the Annaberg Sugar Ruins. It is perfect for anyone as the water is calm and the beach is long. Parking is limited, but it is a very short walk to the beach from parking. Loved it so much, came back May 2013.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratham, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Calm and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have been visiting St John for the past ten years and this was the first time we visited Francis Bay. Wow were we missing out. The beauty and calmness of this beach is worth the drive. Loved travelling down the dirt road to reach it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The view was great but I got A LOT of bug bites”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

The view was great, there was nice weather was great, but me and my family got a gazillion bug bites. The bugs there are no see 'ems and they itch like CRAY! You don't feel them bite you until after one hour when you notice you have red spots covering your arms legs and chest. It was ridiculous! Be careful not to itch the or else they get infected :( also, new bites pop up when you scratch but I recommend Magen's bay in st Thomas or trunk bay in st john or cinnamon bay in st john or sapphire bay in st Thomas

Don't visit unless you want to spend the rest of your vacation applying anti itch cream 4x a day to your various bites

If, however, you still want to visit I would not recommend rolling around in the sand for hours

HEED THIS WARNING!!!!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The guide books make it sound like all beaches on St. John are equal. They are not. Skip this one is you were thinking of snorkeling. It's OK is you just want a sunburn.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francis Bay also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Caneel Bay, St. John
 

Been to Francis Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.