We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic snorkeling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hurricane Hole

Hurricane Hole
St. John
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 51 Attractions in St. John
Type: Forests, Bodies of Water, Nature & Parks
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A storm-protected bay in the arms of mangrove trees with a lively and colorful nursery of fish.
Gresham, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“fantastic snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We rented a kayak at Crabby's and went over to Otter Creek at Hurricane Hole. Otter Creek is the second inlet, the one with the white buoys. Go past the buoys and tie up on a root. The snorkeling is fantastic. I could have stayed all day. There is SO MUCH coral life there and the water is very calm. We went on a fairly windy day and the trip over was about 1 hour battling the wind and waves, on the way back it was only 30 minutes. This is a must do on St. John.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kentwood, Michigan, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Mangrove snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I never thought I wanted to snorkel the mangroves until our captain strongly suggested I try it. Very cool and an interesting change of pace from typical reef snorkeling.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, Illinois, Usa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Best snorkeling we found on the island, as long as you have a boat to get there. Shallow waters make for flat calm conditions, and the mangroves offer varying 'theaters' for viewing a wide variety of marine life. Watch out for the enormous urchins, but enjoy everything else.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Peeking into Mother Nature's nursery...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

When I first heard about snorkeling in mangroves, I thought it would be kind of creepy with all of those tangled tree roots. I imagined dark, creature from the black lagoon type of environment... boy, was I wrong! The first time I went, it must have been around May and sea grass had grown in great columns from the seafloor. The water was very clear and the columns made it seem like a mermaid's palace. Absolutely magical to swim with baby sharks and all kinds of juvenile fish. A little difficult to get to, either trying to find an opening from the road (be careful!) or by kayak.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Oh my never knew it could be so beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Snorkeling in the Mangroves is awesome, it is not stinky and water is crystal clear. However you need to hire someone to take you there snorkeling. Worth the money, don't touch anything it is amazing and it should stay that way for generations to see. Lots of coral, sea turtles, and this is like the nursery for all baby fish. Make it a day trip if you can, we only did a half day and it was too short, to much to see in such a short time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hurricane Hole also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
Hopewell Cape, New Brunswick
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Hurricane Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hurricane Hole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.