We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Actually haul over bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Bay

Coral Bay
St. John
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$95*
and up
Coral Bay Day Sail in St John
Ranked #16 of 51 Attractions in St. John
Type: Neighborhoods, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Dining, Drinking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A home decidedly away from home for a number of U.S. expats who now reside in this eclectic community.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Actually haul over bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We love haul over bay. It is a trek to reach and not really a beginners experience. Cut your teeth on easier snorkel sights. The current here can get difficult but the beds of sea fans and teaming sea life make it a great stop. We have seen nurse sharks here every time we have gone out. The walk through the woods can be filled with mosquitoes so be prepared. Pretty isolated so carry water and we did some night snorkeling here with amazing sights

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    22
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great view...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I drove here after spending three days on the Cruz Bay side. While the drive deemed exciting with great stops for pictures and an opportunity to see the other side of e island, we ended up driving back to the other side to spend our day. The rocky beaches and difficult trails to get to these beaches didn't appeal to us. I did appreciate the opportunity to explore.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Most Beautiful Place on Earth!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our Fourth trip to St John & Coral Bay. Lots of great hiking in the Virgin Island National Park. Great food at Uncle Rays BBQ place in Cruz Bay, & brunch at Miss Lucy's is a must.
Trunk Bay is unbelievably beautiful!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Thank you Coral Bay for making us fall in love with St John again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have been coming to St John for over 15yrs but never stayed on this side of the island. We found it warm and inviting like it was years ago on the other sides. We had thought this was going to be our farewell to St John trip but the people of Coral Bay have us already planning our next trip!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Still a Peaceful Haven for Visitors and Wildlife Alike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have been an islander since the 1950's. St John and especially Coral Bay are still virtually unspoiled by the fast paced life that makes this world spin all around us. If you are looking for a Supremely Peaceful and Relaxing Vacation, this is the spot for you. The donkeys, goats, and chickens still run free and the waters are some of the best in the world. Hurricane hole is a particularly special eco system treasure that is protected so we all can enjoy it well into the future. Be sure to kayak, snorkel or paddle board around the amazing life that is in the mangroves. Spectacular for sure!! You will also find an assortment of fun shops bars and restaurants to go along with the wonderful assortment of vacation accommodations in all price ranges. The local folk are friendly and happy to be helpful or provide tips and information. Enjoy!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coral Bay also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Caneel Bay, St. John
 

Been to Coral Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.