We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful day and trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wayward Sailor

Wayward Sailor
#7 Boulon Center | c/o Viva Villas-PO box 1711, 00831, St. John
340.473.9705
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 121 Activities in St. John
Type: Boat tours, Boat Tours & Water Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: St. John, VI Day sail charters, voted Best Day Sail Charter boat on St. John for the past five years, specialize in guided snorkeling, eco-tour with marine naturalist, personal service, family oriented; full day sails,half day, sunset sails, Jost van Dyke, BVI; snorkel reefs accessible only by boat, all inclusive, discounted price, fresh Caribbean lunches, homemade brownies, maximum of six guests, safe, comfortable classic 30' sloop, Coast Guard approved, beginner snorkelers welcome.
Hubbard
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful day and trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Six of us had a wonderful day sailing and snorkeling with Capt. Phil and Tarn. Lunch at Foxy's was good and Foxy was very entertaining! Phil and Tarn took excellent care of every detail! Very relaxing! Hope to go again on another trip soon!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    6
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Intimate Sailing and Snorkeling Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Captain Phil and his mate are a fantastic pair. They are courteous and extremely accommodating. His sail boat can take a maximum of six passengers, so the trip is very small and intimate. Captain Phil is an active naturist and knows where the best snorkel spots are in the Virgin Islands. He also married us on our trip to the Virgin Islands. I highly recommend this trip!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very knowledgeable, good for inexperienced sailors”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I enjoyed meeting Capt Phil and Tarn. We took us to some cool spots to snorkel and we got to see a lot of sea life that we hadn't yet seen on our trip. The lunch was great and Tarn served us hand and foot. As experienced sailors, I felt like we were treated like children (note: we range in age from 25 - 62 and three of us taught sailing for many years). It was just a little bit weird - everything had a system and we were told we weren't allow to jump in the water once we were securely at anchor because we needed instructions on snorkeling (note: we know how to snorkel). We watched Capt Phil clean our snorkel gear for at least 15 minutes - all we wanted to do was go swimming. Although he did help us keel our masks fog-free, the rigidity was a bit much. If you know what you are doing, or want a laid back day, find another vendor to sail with.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OUTSTANDING!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The Best Sail Trip I have ever had. Knowledgable Capt and Crew! Highly Reccomend! The nicest crew ever!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodrich, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A must experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I met Capt Phil and sailed on the Wayward Sailor 11 years ago. We came back last week with our teenage daughters for the full day snorkel and sail. We all had a fantastic time! We were on board with a nice couple from New York (he will take 6 passengers max). The small group makes it an even greater, more personal experience. First of all, you won't find a more knowledgeable guy out there....he lived on this boat for 27 years! He knows SO much about the sea and what's in it! He took us to some amazing snorkel spots where we swam with sea turtles and rays, including a spotted eagle ray, and saw a crazy variety of fish and corals. We were all experienced snorklers this trip, but my first time out I had never had the guts to "dive down", I just hovered...he provided excellent instruction and removed all doubt that I could do it...he is awesome! First mate, Tarn, is very nice, and provided an excellent lunch, in addition to many other things. Unlike another reviewer, I felt no apprehension about enjoying the cold beer (and it was cold), even knowing his past...he doesn't throw it out there to be preachy...he's just an eccentric guy who's seen and done it all, and likes to share. While on St. John, we did the Caneel Bay guided hike/kayak/snorkel tour with VIecotours, the Reef Bay guided tour, snorkeled Leinster Bay and Waterlemon Cay, and Trunk Bay....our day with Capt Phil and Tarn aboard the Wayward Sailor was easily the highlight of our trip, above these other excursions!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wayward Sailor also viewed

 

Been to Wayward Sailor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wayward Sailor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.