We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's easier than it looks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ram Head Trail

Ram Head Trail
St John, US Virgin Islands, 00830, St. John
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 113 Activities in St. John
Type: Trails, Outdoor Activities
Attraction details
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It's easier than it looks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

When you arrive at Salt Pond Bay and look at the trail (look up) it seems intimidating but it's only a mile long and is broken up by cobblestone beach. I would suggest doing this first while you still have energy and motivation because once you plunk down on the beach, you won't want to move except to go into the water. There are a couple of sections where it gets a little hairy because it's steep but 3 steps later you're back on normal trail path. The views as you get closer to the end is unbelievable and I think even better than when you get to the end itself. Plenty of people do this trail including seniors and people with babies strapped to them like a backpack, so it's not that hard. Do the trail, there isn't much else to do at Salt Pond. And wear something that is strapped onto your feet like Teva's or Keens. I wore flip flops and it made the hike a bit challenging than it had to be.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    31
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice hike to gorgeous view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Loved the entire hike--lots of interesting things to experience along the way.
Brain coral as part of the hiking trail--only in the Virgins! Also lots of interesting cactus varieties, lizards, and hermit crabs on the trail.
Led past a blue pebble beach with spectacular snorkeling to the right--go out to the point and back.
Great vistas of both sides of this peninsula, and at the top--a spectacular view. Well worth the hike.
The local tradition at the top is to create your own rock sculpture. (You'll see plenty along the way.)
Wear sturdy shoes, Tevas are OK, but sneakers are better.
Bring at least a bottle of water per person.
Bring snorkel gear and cameras.
Hike in the morning or when it is cooler.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elysburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Hiking to Ram's Head is worth the effort. Along the way you will come to Blue Cobblestone Beach with excellent snorkeling. The view from Ram's Head cannot be beat on a clear day. It takes while with plenty of up and downs of the trail. Take water and don't wear flip flops. Views are amazing!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Suprise! You are at the end of the world and could not be happier!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I had visited Salt Pond before and knew there were 2 other trails to Drunk Bay and Ram's Head but I was perfectly satisfied snorkeling at Salt Pond. Thank God I was able to go back - After a little snorkel in Salt Pond I put my shoes and went for a "little" walk - before I knew it I was at the end of the world smiling from ear to ear. Every step was beautiful and I would recommend this short (1.2 miles each way) to anyone - I would recommend wearing tennis shoes however I a few troopers clogging along in flip flops and I saw the same smile on their faces!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful trail with spectacular views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

One of the best things we did while on St. John's for a week. The walk is not too bad, a bit up and down, but very doable, and wear sneakers - NOT flip flops, as there are rocks to navigate, especially on the beach. The view at the end is spectacular and well worth the effort.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ram Head Trail also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Caneel Bay, St. John
 

Been to Ram Head Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ram Head Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.