We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rhumb Lines

Rhumb Lines
Meada's Plaza, 00830, St. John
340-776-0303
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 113 Restaurants in St. John
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Asian fusion, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Paducah, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Not impressed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I know most people think this place is great but I was not impressed.Service was OK,the drinks good but I did not care for the food. Our scallops were very spicy and under cooked.The spring rolls were good but not exceptional and the rice cakes had no taste. I travel a lot and just did not care for the food. We had lunch the day before at Miss Lucy's the other end of the island and I preferred the food there for a whole lot less money and better scenery.The couple with us said they get better food at a Thai restaurant in Naples Florida. They were not impressed either.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    172
    66
    27
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valdosta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is our favorite place on St. John. It's a sign we are in the islands. Mahi Mahi is my favorite with a lime n coconut to drink.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We ate at Rhumb Lines on the recommendation of a local and are so glad we did. The food was delicious, and much different than most on the island. The atmosphere is fun, it is kind of a hidden gem as you don't see it walking by! The cocktails are great, more unique cocktail list than most places on the island.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love Rhumb Lines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We went with friends for dinner last week at Rhumb Lines. It's probably our 4th visit to this restaurant over the years. Love the atmosphere and food is always good. Quick drink at the bar - love the new swinging seats! - and then to our table. Recommend trying some of the shared plates or appetizers. Good to get a few and share. Everyone had something different for their meal and everyone was pleased. We have been here with kids and adults. Would recommend either way. A hard to find, pretty little spot in St John!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding and creative food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We were delighted with this restaurant, which was the best place we ate on St. John. We came back and were just as pleased after our second meal as after our first. The delicious meals included mahi-mahi with banana strips and sweet potato chips, Cuban pork, tenderloin steak, mango gaspacho, and other seafood dishes. The chef is innovative in a good way, with the food beautifully presented and also tasty.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhumb Lines also viewed

Caneel Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Rhumb Lines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhumb Lines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.