We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go early they run out of food!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shipwreck Landing

Shipwreck Landing
Route 107 | Coral Bay, Virgin Islands, 00830, St. John
+1 340-693-5640
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 113 Restaurants in St. John
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Coral Bay, St. John
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go early they run out of food!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Spotty menu after 7PM and I find the wait staff to have a bit of an attitude.
I thought it was just us, but have heard the same comments from others.
Food is OK the dining room could be called Coral Bay charming.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    107
    52
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Just dropped in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We were checking out Coral Bay and stopped in to see what shipwreck had for dinner. It was a great place for drinks and dinner. Another hidden gem on that side of St John!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Eat, drink, repeat...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stopped in one afternoon for a beer (ok, two) while the ladies shopped next door. Good chat with the bartender.
Came back a few days later for dinner. Best fish and chips I've had west of London, in fact they were better than in London.
Good service, casual atmosphere, great food.
Eat, drink, repeat...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A perfect island experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This has to be one of my favorite restaurants on St. John. Everything about it is fun, eclectic ... not to mention delicious. The open-air atmosphere creates the perfect island experience and if you catch them on the right night, local musicians make for a wonderful evening.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balsam Grove, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“food great,bar service terrible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Spent a week on St. John in Coral Bay and ate at Shipwreck 3 times. We had three great dinners, however the bar service was not good at all. The bartender was not engaging to any of her patrons at the bar. Trying to get a second drink.. forget about it. I am not one to write reviews but we stopped twice in the afternoon for a drink and ate dinner at the bar and both times felt we were a bother.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shipwreck Landing also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
Coral Bay, St. John
 

Been to Shipwreck Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shipwreck Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.