We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great casual brunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miss Lucy's

Miss Lucy's
Route 107, 00830, St. John
13406935244
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 117 Restaurants in St. John
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Reservations
Description: We're on vacation! See you again in November
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great casual brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Enjoyed the Sunday brunch here. Be prepared for at least an hour as there's a crowd and service can be slow but who can complain with the views.

Great menu including piña colada pancakes, black strap French toast, salmon scrambled eggs and a ginormous burger with an entire breakfast on it. (Bacon and an egg). Get there early for a seat and be nice and share your table with those waiting if you have room. You'll be glad you did.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    126
    38
    15
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a great restaurant. On the water, friendly staff, fresh food. We ate there 4 times on our vacation. Just one time a bit slow but with that view it did not matter. We will go back as soon as we can.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingworth, Connecticut
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

MISS Lucy's was the bed, most flavorful food on the island! Every dish we had was wonderful. The view from where we sat was breathtaking, facing the ocean just a few feet away. It is on the other side of the island from where we stay and down a long dirt road, but well wort h the trip. A car is a must for getting there.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“very good but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The food was really terrific. We each had a different fish entree, with veg, sauce and rice. Delicious and beautifully presented. Salad equally as pleasing! What suc---d for us was the service.
M---was hurried, rude and rushing around the whole time, making little eye contact, grabbing menus from our hands and slamming drinks and plates down. We can handle a long wait anywhere, when service is congenial, and engaging. Tell us we'll wait, tell us your slammed, make us laugh, and make us like you. Her female assistant was no better. It wasn't until the BT and other boys from the kitchen came out to help did we see polite and courteous service. We learned later from other wait stafff around Coral Bay, that the locals love M's behavior, and she takes pride in holding onto her NY state of mind. We were mightily turned off by it. Having said all that, the food was great, the drinks strong, the view fabulous , and the reggae excellent. We'll tolerate M if we must, but she could really learn a thing or two and increase her tips!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
233 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Very good – with a pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This open air restaurant, located in Coral Bay, is right on the water of the bay and serves excellent Carribean syle cuisine. Two of our group ordered the avocado snapper and two ordered the blackened scallops, another had coconut grouper, two others had vegetable sides. The snapper was amazingly good – best meal I had on this trip. One who got the scallops thought they were excellent while the other thought they were just ok, commenting that the glaze was too sweet, while the other meals were very good with no complaints.

One caution – while it is perhaps a routine practice at most restaurants to add a tip for parties above a certain size, if you aren't used to it (because you don't usually have a large group), you can end up double tipping. So, check the bill before adding the tip. However, I can give kudos to Miss Lucy's. I added a tip (it was dark and hard to read the bill) only to discover later that the tip had already been included. Wasn't too disappointed since service was very good even though the waitress was very busy. But – upon checking my credit card statement – discovered that the restaurant had not added my tip to the charge. Thank you Miss Lucy's.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miss Lucy's also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
Coral Bay, St. John
 
Coral Bay, St. John
Coral Bay, St. John
 

Been to Miss Lucy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miss Lucy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.