We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, comfortable base for exploring the Brecon Beacons” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
Cwm Taf (on the A470), Cwmtaf CF48 2HY, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cwmtaf
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good, comfortable base for exploring the Brecon Beacons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We were making a return visit to this part of Wales to attend a specific event and we were also looking for a comfortable base for exploring and for outdoor activities. We stayed for three nights in a standard room in the upstairs front part of the hotel. This room was comfortable with little external noise and was perfectly clean, modern and well-presented with good ensuite facilities. The buffet breakfast included in the room rate was also very satisfactory - to the extent that we didn't venture beyond it to the cooked breakfast.

The spa facilities were excellent, with the only problem we encountered being availability of lockers at peak times - not a major problem if you are a guest and can change in your room. The gym is a useful addition. One of our party had a spa treatment which proved enjoyable.

Having read so many rave reviews of the restaurant, I was expecting something special. What we found was certainly good but it was not outstanding. A helpful feature was a decent selection of vegetarian food laid out on the menu in a way that was easy to find. However service on an admittedly busy Saturday evening was extremely slow, and the food was, for my taste, somewhat bland and uninspired.

Based on our stay I would certainly return and I would recommend this hotel to others, especially for location and spa facilities. The staff were generally helpful and efficient and we also appreciated the free DVD loan service. This is a lovely part of Wales with a huge number of things to do and places to explore, and Nant Ddu Lodge proved to be a good choice of accommodation for doing just that.

Room Tip: Our standard room, at the front of the hotel, was comfortable, well-presented and reasonably quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    146
    71
    47
    13
See reviews for
56
216
5
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Another lovely stay at the Nant Ddu. We arrived on Friday morning and our ‘best’ room was ready. The room had recently been redecorated and was nicely spacious. It overlooked the river and the sound of it running by was very soothing. We booked away from above the entrance as there’s an ashtray underneath and smokers congregate there. The mattress in our room had a big dip in it on one side and lacked any ‘spring’ and there was a tiny leak from the water pipe into the toilet but these things can only be changed if reported which I did at the end of my stay and have no doubt will be fixed. (rm 28)

The swimming pool was nice and warm and everything was working in the spa. We're used to the hot water running out between 5.30 - 7.00 pm on busy weekends so we time out post hiking showers accordingly.

We love the food at the hotel and the staff. The cooked breakfast is worth getting up a bit earlier for – lovely bacon and sausages and it’s always a pleasure to see Andrea. The fabulous Mary is still there – such a delightful lady and you can tell when she’s in charge of that restaurant as it’s run so efficiently and she constantly checks that everyone is happy – she works on the busiest nights. What happens when Mary isn’t there - is a phenomenon – on Sunday nights when Mary isn’t working and the place is half full and you end up waiting ages for everything constantly flagging down waitresses. There is a northern guy in charge but he never seems on top of things (we’ve been quite a few times) thankfully Mariah helped us and we eventually got our drinks and food. Maybe there’s a different chef on Sunday nights but it completely different in the restaurant and we heard a few people complaining. I know they’ll never be another Mary but there’s such a shocking difference in the service when she’s not there!

There’s some lovely new additions to the menu and loads of divine fish options. The soups are fresh and excellent and the best Sunday roasts! The most amazing Sticky Toffee Pudding! I can see why it’s hard to get a table at this place. This is a lovely hotel perfectly situated for exploring the Brecon Beacons and I can highly recommend it. The GM’s Vanessa and Adrian are exceptional people who will always make you feel welcome and solve any problems that come up.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Went on a girlie spa Easter break from Good Friday to Easter Sunday. Plenty of parking, reception staff not the most friendly - no 'have you visited before' or did they tell us what to expect from our break. Lovely clean spa, fantastically quiet for Easter. Sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and pool. Couldn't fault the size or cleanliness. The treatment I booked was lovely but what lacked was friendliness & somewhere to chill afterwards to wind down. There was a small room that doubled as a consultation room but the next people who booked treatments were there too. Maybe a room with a few loungers and low lighting n piped music would be good. In fairness no products were forced on us after our treatment like other spa breaks we've been on.
Our hotel room was clean but tired. Marks on the walls and furniture. My biggest gripe was room 23 was situated right next to the main entrance and along with an ashtray mounted on the wall so on a warm Easter weekend when we opened our window the room smelt like an ashtray! We did ask to be moved but was told the hotel was full. Hence the room was stuffy. Think guests should not be encouraged to smoke so near to hotel and guest rooms!

The restaurant couldn't be faulted. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner both days. All was amazing. The chef is to be congratulated. Defo the selling point of this hotel. Breakfast was buffet - extra charge for cooked breakfast. We never needed this as so much choice. Lunch was light and varied. The starters were served very fancy and the rib eye steak just fell apart. The Baileys pudding was simply amazing.
Lovely you could flit between spa and restaurant in your robes for meals without feeling like an inpatient!
Mary the front of house is a gem and very knowledgable on food served and area. She's an asset at Nant Ddu.
Lovely stay. Would visit again but a lick of paint bad customer service refresher course wouldn't go a miss.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Came here for a nights stay for our anniversary. Stayed on the spring savers deal which included a meal in the restaurant. Pool was lovely and pretty empty which was a surprise as it was the Easter hols.
Meal was delicious. Wine was lovely and beds really comfy.
Breakfast was also included, it was held in a separate breakfast room that looked onto the grounds.
All in all, a lovely stay and would stay again!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Attended a spa day here - spa is lovely had 2 treatments included through a deal on a offers site, wouldn't have paid full price for the treatments. Around the pool they need more loungers as there aren't enough. Booked lunch separate food was delicious although salads can take up to 25minutes to prepare (not for those who are in a rush). Not many staff around and having to wait at the bar or go off and find staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Called into this establishment twice last week. First time we stood at the bar and staff behind walked away and walked passed us without so much as a greeting. Second time we thought we would try early morning coffee, no such luck there were staff passing in the corridor but none of them passed the time of day. There wont be a third time, drive past this place to the next village for a decent inviting pub.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brynmawr, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My boyfriend and I were given a voucher for Nant Ddu so finally managed to book for dinner (Saturday's are VERY difficult to try get a table even as far as 2 months trying to book in advance) but when you get there you can understand why it is so popular.

I had the pulled pork starter and my boyfriend the spinach and ricotta parcels, both were stunning! We both had the fillet steak for main and I must say it was the best we have had in Britain! Desserts were both good too my boyfriend had the sticky toffee and I had the chocolate brownie with salted caramel ice cream.

In terms of service, attentive without being overbearing which was nice. There was always someone about if you wanted to order another drink and you weren't asked every time someone walked passed your table and noticed an empty glass so it was a perfect balance!

Really, if you can try eat there! I will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel

Address: Cwm Taf (on the A470), Cwmtaf CF48 2HY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Merthyr Tydfil County > Cwmtaf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cwmtaf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former AA Welsh Hotel of the Year, the Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel, Bistro and Spa is a contemporary inn in the heart of the Brecon Beacons National Park. You could not find a more ideal location for your short break or business trip with highlights including: 28 individually designed bedrooms, extensive grounds with two rivers for the summer, blazing log fires in the winter, a bustling bistro and an intimate bar, extensive menus specialising in game and fish dishes with great puddings, a state-of-the-art health spa with 18 metre pool, gym and spa pool, a treatment centre offering a wide range of health and beauty treatments, attentive staff at all times and all at great value prices. The Nant Ddu Lodge is also a great place to base yourself while exploring the Beacons and the Valleys of South Wales with Cardiff being just 30 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nant Ddu Hotel Cwmtaf
Nant Ddu Cwmtaf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.