We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cwm Taf (on the A470), Cwmtaf CF48 2HY, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cwmtaf
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here for a night with our two young children during our visit to the Brecon Beacons. The family room was very spacious with a separate bedroom for the kids. It is beautifully presented and clean. The restaurant has great food and a good selection for breakfast. Would definitely come back for another stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    154
    75
    51
    14
See reviews for
61
229
5
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

me and my daughter stayed at hotel with a spa package . we stayed last year and loved it so much we thought we would stay again. has a lovely relaxing time there, only a few bad points spoilt our stay. firstly our radiator in our room did not work. we asked at reception and was told they were on a timer and would shortly be on. 2hrs later no sign of it working. went to tell them and was told no manager or anyone to check it. was given a heater to use. i told her at the end of the day the room cost us nearly £200 and would expect it to be working for that price. it did eventually come on early hrs of the morning, too late then as we were warm enough in bed, resulting in us shutting it off. Next morning it was not on again.. Next thing was while having my treatments i had to shower only to find i could not turn the shower fully off resulting in me having a brief showering of cold water. I told the lady and she tried to turn it off but she was not able to fully shut it off either. When i had a facial and was supposed to be relaxing the only thing i could hear was the shower running as it still would not shut off. The lady said it was working fine the day before but when i told my daughter she told me she was in the same room as me last year and the same thing happened to her. I think the spa part needs a makeover as it was looking tired and in need of a spruce up.Now the good points, the room we stayed in was lovely and clean,also the food was lovely, could not fault it. The staff were friendly and helpful. Wont be staying there next year though, will look at other places.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Second visit to the hotel. Both times we have come for an overnight spa package with treatments/dinner/lunch. The rooms are brilliant, spacious and comfy. The pool facilities are brilliant with lovely view out. Treatments are fantastic. As a chef I'm always fussy with food, the 3 course dinner was fantastic the food was faultless in every aspect. Will definitely be coming back again soon! Highly recommend!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Me and my husband stopped over at the Nant Ddu end of december as a birthday treat and I am also 7 and a half months pregnant so we thought it would be a chance to get away and have a bit of a break. Had a lovely relaxing stay. Used the pool, jacuzzi etc which were all very good. Changing rooms to the pool could do with a little updating but it didn't spoil the experience at all. Room was a good size and spotlessly clean. The best bit though was the restaurant, the food is amazing would highly recommend to everyone. We will be back! :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our recent brief stay. Welcoming and great food ! Gym and pool are very good too. We will be back. I could niggle over a couple of things (bring shampoo etc) but on the whole the stay was great.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

The other half and I decided to take up the Sunday special offer which includes a nights stay, a massage, full use of the spa facilities and money off dinner and lunch. The massage was great, the staff were wonderful, the food was delicious. Had a great nights sleep, rooms were clean and tidy, there is a bit of wear and tear here and there in the hotel but in no way did this detract from a fab overnight break. A little fridge in the room would be nice just to keep your water/juice cold. Will certainly go back again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this lovely lodge numerous times and it never disappoints! Spa, rooms, staff and food are wonderful and we would highly recommend. We have noticed it's getting more and more busy recently but this is probably due to some great deals they've had. Would recommend the restaurant for family meals too, a tip is to go for the slow roasted lamb, it's lovely. My husband and I always say we feel like we've been away for more than 24hrs after being there as it's so relaxing. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Superior rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel

Address: Cwm Taf (on the A470), Cwmtaf CF48 2HY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Merthyr Tydfil County > Cwmtaf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cwmtaf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former AA Welsh Hotel of the Year, the Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel, Bistro and Spa is a contemporary inn in the heart of the Brecon Beacons National Park. You could not find a more ideal location for your short break or business trip with highlights including: 28 individually designed bedrooms, extensive grounds with two rivers for the summer, blazing log fires in the winter, a bustling bistro and an intimate bar, extensive menus specialising in game and fish dishes with great puddings, a state-of-the-art health spa with 18 metre pool, gym and spa pool, a treatment centre offering a wide range of health and beauty treatments, attentive staff at all times and all at great value prices. The Nant Ddu Lodge is also a great place to base yourself while exploring the Beacons and the Valleys of South Wales with Cardiff being just 30 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nant Ddu Hotel Cwmtaf
Nant Ddu Cwmtaf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.