We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap honest food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dragonfly

The Dragonfly
A470 | Rhydcar Leisure, Merthyr Tydfil CF48 1UT, Wales
01685 268385
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cheap honest food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Dragonfly is a Marston s Pub and does a daily two for one offer. The food is good a the price is fab. The steaks are around the £12 mark so two lovely sirloins or rumps for £12 is great. The staff are polite and very helpful. Watch the drink prices can add a lot to your bill. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    22
    10
    14
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“great food,good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just had lunch in Dragonflies Merthyr,got a 5 place table in minutes on a busy bank holiday,great,my wife and I had americano steaks(10oz serloins coverd in bacon and a BBQ sauce topped with cheese)onion rings grilled tomatoes and chips,2 of these cost £15 for both!my mother had fish and chips,a massive piece of cod in a crispy beer batter with all the trimmings my youngest daughter had sticky BBQ chicken brest with chips,both these meals togeather cost only £10.99,my oldest girl had reagge reagge chicken wraps with chips and salad plus dressings for £4.99,with all drinks included the meal came to £46,the service is fast and very polite the waitress came back several times to check we were happy,could not have asked for more.This resraurant is well worth a visit at any time of the week or weekend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke On Trent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed in the area for 2 nights and ended up eating here both of the nights. I had the steak Americano and the surf and turf. The food was cooked to high quality and cannot fault anything about it. The staff were also very friendly and very helpful. If you are in the area and after something to eat then I highly recommend this place

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from the dragon fly with my girlfriend and I have to say the place has massively raised its game from the last few times I visited, the quality of food was brilliant and the size of the portions have also been improved. We both walked out of the restaurant with full bellies and it came to less tha £20 including drinks.. well done dragon fly on raising your game. We shall be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberfan, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great afternoon meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just came back from the dragonfly, merthyr and i must say what a fab time. been there 4 times previous and all times the meals were pretty good. Today, however, was absolutely fabulous. When we arrived i was full but within 5 minutes we were called for a table. Service was second to none and the meals were top notch. Will be calling again

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dragonfly also viewed

Merthyr Tydfil, Merthyr Tydfil County
Merthyr Tydfil, Merthyr Tydfil County
 
Pentrebach, Merthyr Tydfil County
Merthyr Tydfil, Merthyr Tydfil County
 

Been to The Dragonfly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dragonfly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.