We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older resort with friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bolongo Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bolongo Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   7150 Bolongo, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ellensburg, Washington
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Older resort with friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nice friendly and helpful staff. Nice swimming pool very well taken care of, clean rooms but very old and could use some help. The shower was very small with fluctuating water temperatures. Had a comfortable bed. Our room was on the first floor with a great view and easy access to the beach and restaurants. The staff made up for the downfalls they truly were the best.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    265
    111
    59
    46
See reviews for
179
393
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
rosedale bc
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at Bolongo Bay beach resort at the end of March after a stay on Tortola for
5 days. The two islands are so different, Tortola is laid back, St Thomas a beehive of
activity. Bolongo Bay beach resort gives you both. If you want activities, lots are
available, if you want to relax on the beach, go to it. The water is difficult to get into due
to the slippery rocks, once in, the area available for recreational use is very limited.
Our use of the kayaks and paddle boats was restricted between markers maybe 100
feet apart and going into the bay maybe 500 feet. The right hand side of the bay is
off limits. The catamaran sundown cruise was well worth it. The room we had on the
first floor was good, the wait staff in the restaurants and bars know how to please
their quests. The only complaint I have, we had no hot water for two days and management
did not think maybe sending a explanation to the rooms affected would be a good idea.
We stayed here with 2 other couples, we all enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: First floor rooms best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

My sister and I were. Here for 5 days on April 13-15 it was not long enough. We were sad to leave. The staff were Wonderful.I highly Recommend the heavenly day snorkeling with the turtles we seen a lot and the crew were awesome.we also got to swim with the turtles on. The boose hunt and even found a bottle of boose. We will definitely will be back. We give it 5 star's.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were married here in March this year. Our entire experience at Bolongo Bay was better than we imagined.

The rooms were felt like we were staying at a beach house. It is not fancy but we wanted a room where we could feel comfortable walking in with our sandy feet and wet swim suits without feeling like we'd be charged for damage. They supplied all the toiletries you need: body wash, shampoo, conditioner and lotion. They do not provide the sunscreen but you can buy it at their gift shop. The best part of the room was opening the windows and listening to the waves break all night long. I can't recall having a better night's sleep.

All Bolongo guests can use the beach equipment. They have paddle boards, kayaks, snorkel gear and hobie cats. And don't forget the countless beach chairs. You also do not need to bring beach towels; they supply them too.

We actually got married at Bolongo Bay. Our wedding coordinators, Lorie and Danielle, were so helpful throughout the wedding planning process. Our wedding day was picturesque and stress free. I couldn't have asked for a better day. Danielle and Lorie did a fantastic job with all the prep work.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

One week at St Thomad Bolongo bay resort was the absolute best not the most fancy place I've stayed but everything you need right at your finger tips the host where excellent the taxi Oneal was great and the bar tenders 007 at the lobster grill and at iggys where great can't go over the whole vacation to much to go over but I recommend bolongo bay to any couple looking for safety fun and relaxation

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was clean and large with a king size bed. We had a good view of the ocean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The all-inclusive meal plan was abundant. The portions were huge and we could never eat all that we were allowed. The meals were so delicious and carefully prepared with beautiful presentation. The drinks kept flowing too, of course! There are many water toys available and plenty of evening entertainment at the beach bar, Iggies. I suggest the Sunset catamaran cruise, for a fun evening with drinks and snacks. The gift shop has everything you would need and a helpful staff. The hotel is not near any other businesses so you would have to take a taxi to go into town to shop or visit another beach. Only disappointment was the rocky beach. Getting in and out of the water was painful. For a softer sandier beach visit Megen's Bay Beach.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first visit to Bolongo Bay Beach Resort and we fell in love with the place. The setting is just plain perfect. We met some really nice folks while we were there. The pace can be as slow or fast as you want it to be. The all inclusive nature if the resort is a perfect combination. It's really nice that they put your name up on the bulletin board the day you arrive welcoming you there for the first time, or returning. Nice touch. Azim, at the Front Desk, is quite welcoming and enthusiastic to have you there. Laura, in the Gift Shop/Activities Center, was quite helpful. We spoke with her 3 weeks before our trip and she booked our resort associated trip and made a great suggestion for the all day British Virgin Island trip. Laura embodies the spirit of helpfulness that is Bolongo Bay staff. The food at The Lobster Grill was a highlight of the trip. The Lobster Tail dinner is fantastic. My favorite was the Grilled Pork Ribeye! The flavors in this dish were so robust and savory. JM really enjoyed the Prime Rib special on Sunday evening. Chef does an amazing job with brining all his flavors together. It was a sinful pleasure to eat his food. I was quite surprised I did not get tired of the menu in 10 days. For breakfast, the Corn Beef and Hash was perfectly flavored and cooked just right. The staff at The Lobster Grill is a delight to visit with every day. George and Kevin, Managers, always had a smile on their faces and went out of their way to make everyone feel welcomed. Miss Viola is just a pure delight. Her smile is so infectious and to listen to her talk about her life in Virgin Islands and at Bolongo, you can see she just loves what she does. Morgan and Miss USVI where always a delight to see. Cannot remember all The Lobster Grill staff that waited on us over our 10 days there; however, Steve, Radiant and all the others that waited on us were always very nice and cheerful. Now, as a drinker and former bar worker, I have a special affinity for Bartenders! Double O made us feel a part of the family while there. I save the best, Miss Alex, for last. As she is the day Bartender, of course, I spent the most time with her while staying at Bolongo. It was a treat to see her evryday and just to enjoy the conversation with her like we were long lost friends. We would also hang out with her after hours at Iggies and she welcomed us to the locals section of the bar with open arms and a smile. She is a great asset to the atmosohere and the memories of our stay at Bolongo.

The menu at Iggies is a great addition to your eating desires while staying at Bolongo. Their burgers are some of the best we have ever eaten. They have great conch fritters, Fish Tacos and a very nice New York Strip dinner. Iggies is just the food you want to put on your stomach after a day/night of drinking!

When you are at Bolongo Bay, we both highly recommend you take advantage of the Heavenly Days Catamaran and take the Sunset Cruise, Days trip to St. John and the Snorkel and Swim with turtles trips. Larry the Captain, James your Coast Guard Certified Bartender and Drew your deck hand go out of their way to make your time on the Heavenly Days enjoyable, safe and memorable.

Richard Doumeng, owner, and the entire staff of Bolongo Bay Beach Resort make everyone feel special and they made our trip a very memorable one as well. We will be back to Bolongo Bay Beach Resort in the future. That is for sure. Once you experience this place, you too will understand. It is a beautiful and very special place. It will always have a special place in our hearts. Thank you to everyone at Bolongo Bay and Iggies who made our trip a very special one.

We will see you all again!

Regards,

Wesley & JonMichael

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bolongo Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolongo Bay Beach Resort

Address: 7150 Bolongo, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > South Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolongo Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Otel, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Bolongo Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolongo Bay Beach Hotel South Coast
Hotel Bolongo Bay Beach
Bolongo Bay St Thomas
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolongo Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.