We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful first-time experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bolongo Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bolongo Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   7150 Bolongo, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful first-time experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The room was clean and large with a king size bed. We had a good view of the ocean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The all-inclusive meal plan was abundant. The portions were huge and we could never eat all that we were allowed. The meals were so delicious and carefully prepared with beautiful presentation. The drinks kept flowing too, of course! There are many water toys available and plenty of evening entertainment at the beach bar, Iggies. I suggest the Sunset catamaran cruise, for a fun evening with drinks and snacks. The gift shop has everything you would need and a helpful staff. The hotel is not near any other businesses so you would have to take a taxi to go into town to shop or visit another beach. Only disappointment was the rocky beach. Getting in and out of the water was painful. For a softer sandier beach visit Megen's Bay Beach.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    265
    109
    59
    46
See reviews for
178
391
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was our first visit to Bolongo Bay Beach Resort and we fell in love with the place. The setting is just plain perfect. We met some really nice folks while we were there. The pace can be as slow or fast as you want it to be. The all inclusive nature if the resort is a perfect combination. It's really nice that they put your name up on the bulletin board the day you arrive welcoming you there for the first time, or returning. Nice touch. Azim, at the Front Desk, is quite welcoming and enthusiastic to have you there. Laura, in the Gift Shop/Activities Center, was quite helpful. We spoke with her 3 weeks before our trip and she booked our resort associated trip and made a great suggestion for the all day British Virgin Island trip. Laura embodies the spirit of helpfulness that is Bolongo Bay staff. The food at The Lobster Grill was a highlight of the trip. The Lobster Tail dinner is fantastic. My favorite was the Grilled Pork Ribeye! The flavors in this dish were so robust and savory. JM really enjoyed the Prime Rib special on Sunday evening. Chef does an amazing job with brining all his flavors together. It was a sinful pleasure to eat his food. I was quite surprised I did not get tired of the menu in 10 days. For breakfast, the Corn Beef and Hash was perfectly flavored and cooked just right. The staff at The Lobster Grill is a delight to visit with every day. George and Kevin, Managers, always had a smile on their faces and went out of their way to make everyone feel welcomed. Miss Viola is just a pure delight. Her smile is so infectious and to listen to her talk about her life in Virgin Islands and at Bolongo, you can see she just loves what she does. Morgan and Miss USVI where always a delight to see. Cannot remember all The Lobster Grill staff that waited on us over our 10 days there; however, Steve, Radiant and all the others that waited on us were always very nice and cheerful. Now, as a drinker and former bar worker, I have a special affinity for Bartenders! Double O made us feel a part of the family while there. I save the best, Miss Alex, for last. As she is the day Bartender, of course, I spent the most time with her while staying at Bolongo. It was a treat to see her evryday and just to enjoy the conversation with her like we were long lost friends. We would also hang out with her after hours at Iggies and she welcomed us to the locals section of the bar with open arms and a smile. She is a great asset to the atmosohere and the memories of our stay at Bolongo.

The menu at Iggies is a great addition to your eating desires while staying at Bolongo. Their burgers are some of the best we have ever eaten. They have great conch fritters, Fish Tacos and a very nice New York Strip dinner. Iggies is just the food you want to put on your stomach after a day/night of drinking!

When you are at Bolongo Bay, we both highly recommend you take advantage of the Heavenly Days Catamaran and take the Sunset Cruise, Days trip to St. John and the Snorkel and Swim with turtles trips. Larry the Captain, James your Coast Guard Certified Bartender and Drew your deck hand go out of their way to make your time on the Heavenly Days enjoyable, safe and memorable.

Richard Doumeng, owner, and the entire staff of Bolongo Bay Beach Resort make everyone feel special and they made our trip a very memorable one as well. We will be back to Bolongo Bay Beach Resort in the future. That is for sure. Once you experience this place, you too will understand. It is a beautiful and very special place. It will always have a special place in our hearts. Thank you to everyone at Bolongo Bay and Iggies who made our trip a very special one.

We will see you all again!

Regards,

Wesley & JonMichael

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed 8 nights at Bolongo and had an absolutely amazing time. We had 2 rooms for 5 of us and the beds were VERY comfortable, service was outstanding especially Steve and Carolyn at the Lobster Grille which has amazing food and a chef who out does himself daily! Rooms were cleaned everyday. We went with the all inclusive which is the way to go. I don't see how anyone could have any complaints about Bolongo. It is a casual yet upscale resort with plenty to do if you love water sports this place is for you. If you prefer a laid back but all inclusive place, this is it. We snorkeled right off of Bolongos Beautiful beach with 3 giant se turtles every day. I have not one bad thing to say about Bolongo. It is a rare treasure!!! We will be back!!! They have double queen rooms and a King room with a pull out futon ( which could sleep 2 ) and it is VERY comfortable.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dowagiac, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first visit to the Virgin Islands so we were not sure what to expect. Our first impression of the hotel was that it was not as nice as the reviews had suggested. We were a little concerned, to be honest. However, within 24 hours we had experienced enough hospitality to realize that we were going to have a wonderful vacation. The people were so incredibly nice and the food was gourmet-awesome! Definitely go with the all inclusive package so that you don't have to worry about the cost of food, and you can try all of the fabulous appetizers and desserts guilt-free (although be prepared to exercise away the extra weight you'll gain).
The activities at the beach were fabulous for our family. Paddle boards, kayaks, paddle boats, water tricycle, snorkeling, etc. The activities coordinators were super-nice young men, always willing to help. My husband and I have snorkeled in Hawaii and Mexico so we considered the snorkeling to be very basic (but better than most Florida locations), but for our inexperienced 11 and 14-year-old children it was an awesome opportunity. There were sea turtles, stingrays, conch shells, sea urchins, puffer fish, as well as many typical tropical fish. When we went off to the west side of the bay in more 'dangerous' surf and coral reef we were able to see larger schools of fish and more coral, as well as starfish and lobster. Our 11-year-old was not able to handle the surging water there though.
Our favorite part of the vacation was the Heavenly Days catamaran cruise. We had so much fun! The crew was awesome and the views were spectacular. We wished we had more time to do it again.
We would definitely go to Bolongo Bay again. The rooms are basic but clean, the food and drinks are top-notch gourmet, the workers are awesome, and it's total relaxation and fun for the family.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything about this resort is awesome!! The staff is wonderful,helpful and friendly!! The food is great and there is so much to do.we traveled with 2 kids ages 6&11 and they said it was our best trip ever!!!we will definately return!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eskridge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great time at Bolongo Bay. All the staff was wonderful, and friendly. Food was great. The snorkeling was awesome. We saw sting rays and turtles every time we went. The rooms need a little updating but the resort is laid back and fun. Definitely will be going back.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quitman
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I searched long and hard to find the best place on St. Thomas and I hit the JACKPOT! This resort is exquisite! Beautiful rooms, beautiful and helpful staff, 2 restaurants with superb menu and great bars, great entertainment, beautiful setting and beach! You cannot go wrong with reserving this resort for your next vacation! They have snorkeling, kayaks, peddle boats, etc... for playing in the water also!! We will be back, no question! Thanks to everyone who made my family and I feel at home!! Bolongo Bay Beach Resort is the best!! Made great friends with staff and guests!!

Room Tip: We loved the top floor for the ocean view, but both the 2nd floor and bottom had the beach view also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bolongo Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolongo Bay Beach Resort

Address: 7150 Bolongo, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > South Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolongo Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Bolongo Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolongo Bay Beach Hotel South Coast
Hotel Bolongo Bay Beach
Bolongo Bay St Thomas
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolongo Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.